Church of San Pantaleo (Chiesa di S.Pantaleo)

"Church of San Pantaleo (Chiesa di S.Pantaleo)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 7th June 2011

This little church of remote origin named "S.Pantaleo de Parione", was first documented in the 12th century. It was given its present forms by Paul V, who gave it in 1614 in custody of S.Giuseppe Calasanzio, founder of Scolopi and movement for the education of simple children. San Pantaleone or Pantaleo was a medical doctor and a martyr in the beginning of the 4th century, protector of invalids, but there are big doubts about the fact of his existence.

Side view of Church of San Pantaleo at Piazza dei Massimi Church of San Pantaleo at Piazza dei Massimi
In the upper order, a rectangular window opens up within a blind arch. The interior consists of a single nave and bears a vault roofing that was frescoed by Filippo Gherardi with the “Trionfodel Nome di Maria” (C.XVII). The high altar, rich of polychrome marbles, was carried out in 1763-67 and completed by Valadier in 1802. Underneath the altar one treasures San Giuseppe Calasanzio’s relics.
Entrance of Church of San Pantaleo at Piazza dei Massimi
The first important restoration took place in 1681-1689 by the order of cardinal Gaspare Carpegna and architect G.A.De Rossi. The simple neo-classic facade was executed by G.Valadier in 1806 for banker Giovanni Torlonia's wish, who was buried in the church at the foot of High altar. Valadier had some other works done inside of the church. The vault fresco is by F.Gherardi; high Altar is by Carlo Murena and Antonio Bracci.

Address:
Church of San Pantaleo (Chiesa di S.Pantaleo)
Piazza dei Massimi, 4
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Parione (Navona-Campo de' Fiori) (Roma centro)
Church of San Pantaleo (Chiesa di S.Pantaleo) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "42"
Hour: Every day 7.30am-1.10pm 4.00pm-7.10pm. Masses: Holidays 11.30am 7.30pm. The day before a holiday 7.30pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 6840741
Fax: 0039 06 68308858
Email: sec...@scolopi.net

As you visit 'Church of San Pantaleo (Chiesa di S.Pantaleo)' you may also like following articles . . .

Chiesa del Santissimo(SS) Nome di Maria al Foro Traiano (Church Holy Name of Mary at Trajan's Forum)

The design of the church belongs to Antonio Derizet, who created it in 1737 by order of the Confraternity of the St Name of Mary. The Confraternity was

Church of St. Thomas (San Tommaso) at Parione - National Church of Ethiopia

The Church of St. Thomas at Parione (Chiesa di San Tommaso in Parione) was built in 1139-1149 and belonged to the Company of the writers and copy-makers of the

Gherardi, Filippo (1643-1704)

Filippo Gherardi (Lucca 1643-1704) and Giovanni Coli (Lucca 1636-1691), Italian painters. They begun their collective activity studying in Lucca at Paolini and

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Damaso

The primitive little church erected by pope St Damaso I in 380 was destroyed for the construction of Palazzo della Cancelleria. Cradinal Raffaele Riario had

Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari)

Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari) was built by cardinal G.B.Leni for the Barnabits in 1612-1620, in honor of St Charles Borromeo