Church of San Salvatore in Lauro (laurel wood/ bay-trees)

"Church of San Salvatore in Lauro (laurel wood/ bay-trees)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

Church of San Salvatore in Lauro (laurel wood/ bay-trees)

The name of the church reminds about the former look of this zone all covered by little forest of laurel wood/ bay-trees (lauro) in the epoch of its construction. The church is documented since 1117, it was reconstructed in 1449 by cardinal Latino Orsini and entrusted to the canons of S.Giorgio in Alga di Venezia, named "celestini".

Chiesa di S.Salvatore in Lauro.JPG
The fire of 1591 caused complete reconstruction which continued from 1594 till 1734, by project of O.Mascherino. When the Celestini were suppressed, the church and relative convent passed in 1669 to the Confraternity of Piceni, who made it their "national" church and entitled it after Madonna di Loreto. The work over the dome, bell-tower and sacristy were continued by Ludovico Rusconi Sassi in 1727 and finished by N.Salvi. The facade with a relief "Traslazioe della S.Casa di Loreto", by Rinaldo Rinaldi, was created in neo-classic forms, by Camillo Guglielmetti in 1857-1862.
architecture of Church of San Salvatore in Lauro at Piazza di San Salvatore in Lauro
Interior is on a Latin-cross plan and is decorated by 34 monolithic columns of travertine. The interior, wide and bright, is Mascherino’s masterpiece. One may also admire "la Nascita di Gesù" by Pietro da Cortona. The adjacent convent of San Giorgio has a gracious Renaissance cloister.

Pious Association - Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni – Piazza San Salvatore in Lauro

In 1669 the church became the seat of a pious association, the Confraternity of the Piceni, inhabitants of the Marche region. Fanatically loyal to the pope, the Piceni were traditionally employed as papal soldiers and tax-collectors.

The Pious Sodality of Piceni (Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni) of Rome is the oldest institution operating in the capital of the Marche. In front of Palazzo del Pio sodalizio dei Piceni, the seat of the association which had rebuilt the Church of San Salvatore in Lauro. Since 1963 , following amendments to the Statute, the Pious Association has lost its status as a charity and has been transformed into a Foundation school, while maintaining the Catholic character of all time and still have the same heritage as the church San Salvatore in Lauro in the Pious Sodality is owner and caretaker.
Pious Association - Palazzo del Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni (Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni)
Being able to reuse the restored rooms of the church of San Salvatore in Lauro has enabled the organization of important cultural events, also at national level, as well as those relating to the Marche and the Community of Rome. It has recently been modernized and equipped with electronic files in the important research library Parione Way where about 14,000 titles, many on the Marches, there are over a number of manuscripts, newspapers, magazines. The historical archives dating from the early seventeenth century and reaches to the present day is another legacy of great importance. Events, exhibitions, meetings, round tables, concerts, conventions are some of the Pious Society of activities that promoted both in the Marche and national level.

The Palazzetto di Sisto V o del Pio sodalizio dei Piceni, formerly known as the Palazzetto di Sisto V, now the Palazzo del Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni (Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni), is at 7 via di Parione.

Address:
Church of San Salvatore in Lauro (laurel wood/ bay-trees)
Piazza di San Salvatore in Lauro, 15
Close to Piazza Navona
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Church of San Salvatore in Lauro (laurel wood/ bay-trees) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "48"
Bus: 70, 81, 87, 116, 116T, 186, 204, 492, 628
Hours: Weekdays 4.30pm-7.00pm. Holidays 8.00am-1.00pm 4.30pm-7.00pm. Masses: Weekdays 6.00pm Holidays 8.30am 10.00am 12.15pm 6.00pm. During the Mass is not allowed to visit the Church.
Telephone: 0039 06 6875187
Fax: 0039 06 6875187
Email: SanS...@VicariatusUrbis.org
Organization - Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni Website: http://www.piosodaliziodeipiceni.it/

As you visit 'Church of San Salvatore in Lauro (laurel wood/ bay-trees)' you may also like following articles . . .

Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro

The hospice of Piceni is a complex of buildings, cloisters and courtyards, and is annexed to the church of S.Salvatore in Lauro. This is one of the most

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Church/ Chiesa di San Salvatore in Onda

This little Church/ Chiesa di San Salvatore in Onda is documented since 1127, but had lost its original aspect because of continuous restorations (the last one

Church /Chiesa di San Salvatore alle Coppelle, Rome

It was built in 1195 by pope Celestine III. In the Middle Ages it was also named Chiesa di S.Salvatore della Pieta', because the name of "Pieta' " was used a

Church of St. Thomas (San Tommaso) at Parione - National Church of Ethiopia

The Church of St. Thomas at Parione (Chiesa di San Tommaso in Parione) was built in 1139-1149 and belonged to the Company of the writers and copy-makers of the