Church of San Sebastiano (Saint Sebastian) on the Palatine Hill

"Church of San Sebastiano (Saint Sebastian) on the Palatine Hill" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 30th June 2011

Church of San Sebastiano (Saint Sebastian) on the Palatine Hill

The Chiesa di San Sebastiano al Palatino (Church of San Sebastiano on the Palatine Hill) was founded in the 10th century and was also called in the past S.Maria in Pallara. Nevertheless, the present name of the church was given to it in honour of the martyr Sabastiano, imperial officer, died in not far Ippodromo. A monastery annexed to the church was occupied by Benedictines since 1060. The present look of the building was given in 1630 during reconstruction works ordered by Urban VIII. It caused destruction of the 10th century paintings, except those in apse.

The facade, simple and elegant, is decoratedwith the Barberinian bees and ends with a triangular tympanum. The interior has a single nave with a little apse decorated with frescoes from C.X.On the high altar one finds the painting with the “Martirio di San Sebastiano”, by Andrea Cammassei da Bevagna (1633).

Beneath the church were found the rests of Adonaea, or gardens of Adonis, where this god was worshiped. Later, emperor Elegabalus in his own honour built the Temple of the Sun in the center of the gardens, where he placed numerous treasures from the other ancient Roman temples and sacred constructions.

Address:
Church of San Sebastiano (Saint Sebastian) on the Palatine Hill
Via di San Bonaventura, 1
00186 , Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano - Campidoglio - P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Church of San Sebastiano (Saint Sebastian) on the Palatine Hill is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "33"
Hours: Every day 9.00am-12.30am 3.00pm-7.00pm. Sunday closed. Masses: Weekdays 7.00pm 8.00pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 6784236, 0039 331 7231978 (Mobile phone)
Email: sseb...@fastwebnet.it
Website: http://www.vicariatusurbis.org/SanSebastianoalPalatino/

As you visit 'Church of San Sebastiano (Saint Sebastian) on the Palatine Hill' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill)

The Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill) was built in 1625 by initiative of cardinal Francesco Barberini and Blessed Bonaventura da Barcellona

Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill)

The Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill) was built in the 4th century, was decorated with mosaics in the 5th century and restored by

Farnese Gardens on the Palatine Hill (Orti Farnesiani sul Monte Palatino)

In the 16th century on the initiative of the Cardinal Alessandro Farnese a grand villa (Orti Farnesiani) was built on the Domus Tiberiana. The villa was almost

Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill

The Alexamenos graffito (also known as the graffito blasfemo is an inscription carved in plaster on a wall near the Palatine Hill in Rome, now in the Palatine

House of Livia (Casa di Livia) on the Palatine Hill

It was a simple house in which emperor Augustus lived for 40 years with the modesty that his successors never knew. The Palatine hill was a residence zone