Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia

"Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 7th July 2011

The Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia (Chiesa di S.Sisto Vecchio a via Appia) existed already in the 5th century and was restored by Innocent III in the beginning of the 13th century. It was the first Roman convent of St Dominic, but after the saint moved to the church of S.Sabina in 1221, he founded here the first Roman monastery for nuns. From those times S.Sisto Vecchio was always under the Dominican order, except a period of when it had to by abandoned because of epidemics of malaria in the 16th century. In the 30's of this century the convent was occupied by the nuns of the destroyed Convent of St Catherine a Magnanapoli.

Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia at Piazzale Numa Pompilio
In 1724-1730 the church an monastery were restored by F.Raguzzini, and only Romanesque bell-tower remained untouched. The remains of the old church are still visible in a large cloister.

In the cloister one finds ruins of the oldest church and the related annexed chapel, inside which the "Storie di San Domenico" are represented. Absolutely not to be missed is the bell tower dated C. XII, with three orders of three-mullioned windows, from Innocenzo III’s period (late1100s). At present the church is owned by the convent of the Suore Domenicane. In the church’s backyard an exhibition of chrysanthemum takes place every Fall.

Address:
Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia
Piazzale Numa Pompilio, 8
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)
Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "83"
Hours: Every day 7.30am-11.30am. Masses: Winter - Every day 7.00am, Summer - Every day 7.30.
Telephone: 0039 06 77205174

As you visit 'Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo)/ Angelicum University

Until the middle of the 16th century the site of this church was occupied by 9th century Chiesetta di S.Maria ad nives or S.Maria a Magnanapoli. By initiative

Palazzo Nardini (Via Del Governo Vecchio Street)

The palace was built for the cardinal from Milan Stefano Nardini in 1473-1477, made governor of Rome by Sixtus IV. In that period this zone was very popular

Chiesa di Santa Maria del Rosario (Church of St. Mary of the Rosary), Rome

It is incorporated into a monastery construction, has a nice dome and a simple facade with the asymmetrical bell-tower. The church was begun in the middle of

Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery

The name of the Basilica/ Church and Monastery of Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati (Chiesa dei SS.Quattro Coronati/ Basilica dei Santi Quattro Coronati al laterano

Church/ Chiesa di S.Caterina da Siena a Magnanapoli (St Catherine of Siena)

It was built in 1628-1640 and dedicated to the St Catherine of Siena, by the nuns Dominicans from the nearby convent, who transferred here from Piazza S.Chiara