"Church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 16th July 2011
Together with the adjoining monastery of Benedictians located here since the 16th century, the church of S.Cecilia is one of the most characteristic constructions of Trastevere district immersed in silence and loneliness of a Medieval part of the city. Notwithstanding the baroque period of reconstruction the church conserved its original character as a house of martyr (Cecilia was killed in calidarium (hot part of the baths) in her own house).
The church was founded in 230, but the first records about it are of the 5th century. Pope Pasquale I reconstructed the church entirely in 821 to keep here the body of Cecilia. Further restoration works were held in 1599, 1712-25 and in 1823 by initiative of the cardinals Paolo Emilio Sfondrati, Francesco Acquaviva and Giorgio Doria Pamphili respectively. The bell-tower in Roman style and portico of the rose granite and African marble were erected in 1113. The monumental entrance was executed by F.Fuga in 1725. Interior is on three naves. The ceiling of the central nave is decorated with "Apoteosi di S.Cecilia" by S.Conca. The other decorations inside of the church were created by P.Brill, A.di Cambio and P.Cavallini with famous "Giudizio Universale" (1293).
It was continuously restored ever since C. XVI until C.XIX, respectively by the order of Cardinals Francesco Acquaviva and Giacomo Doria Pamphili. The eighteen-century facade is by Fuga and it is preceded by a porch that treasures the antique columns made of pink granite and African marble. Not to miss out, inside the nearby convent, the fresco "Il Giudizio universale" by Pietro Cavallini, dated C. XIII.
Should be noticed one strange fact about the martyr to who the church is dedicated: two times when the rests of S.Cecilia were brought to the light (first in 820 out of the cemetery of San Callisto, and for the second time during the restoration works of 1599) the body of S.Cecilia was nearly untouched by time and was in perfect conditions. The church of S. Cecilia is preserved one of the most interesting archaeological sites in Trastevere, including the remains of Roman houses, parts of the first building of worship and a baptistery.
Church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere
Piazza di Santa Cecilia, 22
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "21"
Hours: Reservations required.
Basilica, crypt and excavations: Monday-Saturday: 9.30 am - 1.00 pm, 4.00 pm - 6.30 pm. Sunday and Holidays: 11.30 am - 12.30 pm, 4.00 pm - 6.30 pm.
Cavallini frescoes: Monday-Saturday: 10.15 am - 12.15 pm; Sunday: 11.30 am - 12.30 pm.
Mass Schedule: Weekdays: 12.00 pm (noon) celebrated by the Rector of the Basilica; Holidays: 7.00 am and 8.45 am; Visits are not allowed during Masses. Schedules are subject to change. Please contact the church before visiting.
Entrance Fee: Admission: €2.50 Excavations: € 2,50; Pietro Cavallini frescoes: € 2,50.
Telephone: 0039 06 5899289, Telephone reservations: 0039 060608 every day from 9.00 to 21.00.