"Church of Santa Maria del Pianto" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011
The church was erected in 1608-1612 on the site of more ancient church (S.Salvatore de'Cacabariis) and was destined to save and honour the image of the Virgin coming from Portico d'Ottavia, which was seen to be crying by cause of mortal brawl in 1546. The architect who's project was applied for the church was Nicola Sebregondi; the church is on a Greek cross. The real completion of the project never took place, as an example of it the facade which was never erected, the lack of choir and a dome.
In 1642 as a consequence of remarkable gift from Vincenzo Porrata, the architect Giovan Battista Mola was invited to continue work over the church. Always thanks to the donations the side chapels and internal decoration was finished under the control of an architect Filippo Tittoni.
The interior, based on a Greek-cross plan, is articulated into pilaster strips. At the beginning of the nave one finds the standard representing the “Miracolodell’immagine piangente della Madonna” and the “Vergine in gloria”, by Lazzaro Baldi (1624-1703). By the same artist “Madonna e Santi” (transept to the right). On the high altar one treasures the venerated fresco of the Madonna del Pianto(C. XV).
In 1891 the property of the Confraternity to which belonged the church was confiscated and in 1896 the church was closed due to damage brought by a lightning. It was reopened in 1907 after restoration executed by a brotherhood Padri Obliati di Maria Vergine.
Church of Santa Maria del Pianto
Via di Santa Maria de' Calderari, 29
00186, Ghetto, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church of Santa Maria del Pianto is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "4"
Hours: Open 12.00pm-01.00pm. Sunday 10.00am-12.00pm. Mass times: Holidays: 11.00am.
Telephone: 0039 06 6861796
Fax: 0039 06 6832799