Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

"Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church remained a little bell-tower of the 12th century with the decorations and some Arab-Spanish ceramics.

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte, Via della Luce, Rome
The transfer to the church of a miraculous image of the Virgin which returned the sight to a blind man made the name of the church changed as well as the whole structure of the building. The last reconstruction works were held in 1730 by G.Valvassori. The name S.Maria della Luce comes from the name of the street where it stands, i.e. via della Luce, a characteristic medieval street.

The façade of the Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte presents the entry portal in the middle and two rectangular windows by the sides. On the portal’s vertical one finds an oval oculus and a window. The interior, richly decorated, presents a plan with three naves divided by pilasters that support the roofing vault. On the high altar one finds the portrait of the Madonna della Luce (XVI secolo). The basin’s frescos are by Sebastiano Conca.

Address:
Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte
Via della Luce, 78
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "19"
Hours: Every day 8.00am-12.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm. Sunday 8.00am-8.00pm. Masses: Holidays 6.20pm. The day before a Holiday 6.00pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 5800820
Fax: 0039 06 58301505
Email: miss...@tiscali.it

As you visit 'Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Santa Maria della Scala

Popular veneration of the miraculous image of Madonna depicted over some stairs in Trastevere forced a cardinal "di Como" and a Carmelite order to purchase a

Church Santa Maria della Quercia

Julius II gave permission to the colony from Viterbo which occupied this part of the zone to build a church dedicated to Madonna under the title of Sanctuary

Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione

The Arch-confraternity of S.Maria in Portico della Consolazione e delle Grazie managing the Ospedale della Consolazione, the hospital built in 1470 adjoining

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Vittoria, Rome

The church grew on the site of a little chapel dedicated to St Paul. The monks Carmelites had the work begun in 1608 by C.Maderno and Filippo Breccioli, who