Church Santa Maria della Quercia

"Church Santa Maria della Quercia" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 3rd June 2011

Julius II gave permission to the colony from Viterbo which occupied this part of the zone to build a church dedicated to Madonna under the title of Sanctuary della Quercia, located close to Viterbo. The heraldic symbol of the pope was the oak-tree, in Italian - "quercia". Thus, a former little church Chiesetta di S.Nicolo' changed its name and was rebuilt in the beginning of the 16th century. In 1532 Clement VII entrusted it to the Confraternity of butchers (lots of them came from Viterbo). In 1727 Benedict XIII had F.Raguzzini to reconstruct it in roccoco forms with a central implant and a convexed façade with a single order surmounded by a big attic.

Church Santa Maria della Quercia, Piazza della Quercia, Rome
The church is on a Greek-cross plan and is surmounted by a hemispheric dome.

Address:
Church Santa Maria della Quercia
Piazza della Quercia, 27
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church Santa Maria della Quercia is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "17"
Hours: Open Sunday 10:00am-12:00pm. Mass times: Sunday: 10.30am.
Telephone: 0039 06 6865196
Fax: 0039 06 6865196

As you visit 'Church Santa Maria della Quercia' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Church of Santa Maria della Scala

Popular veneration of the miraculous image of Madonna depicted over some stairs in Trastevere forced a cardinal "di Como" and a Carmelite order to purchase a

Amphitheater Quercia del Tasso

In summer, look out for outdoor performances, in venues such as the Anfiteatro della Quercia del Tasso, Passeggiata del Gianicolo (tel: 06 575 0827;

Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione

The Arch-confraternity of S.Maria in Portico della Consolazione e delle Grazie managing the Ospedale della Consolazione, the hospital built in 1470 adjoining

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a