Church of Santa Maria della Scala

"Church of Santa Maria della Scala" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

Popular veneration of the miraculous image of Madonna depicted over some stairs in Trastevere forced a cardinal "di Como" and a Carmelite order to purchase a part of the district and build on the place of semi-destroyed poor houses a church and a big monastery with an ample open space. That stairs do not exist now but Maria's image is conserved now in the left transept of the church.

Church of Santa Maria della Scala, Piazza della Scala
The Church of Santa Maria della Scala (Chiesa di S.Maria della Scala) was built by O.Mascherino and F.da Volterra. The interior has only one nave with a transept and not big dome. In a niche on top of the portal one finds a Madonna con il Bambino. The simple façade contrasts an interior based on a Latin cross and a single nave with three chapels per side, richly decorated with polychrome marbles and diverse altars.

In the Cappella di Santa Teresa d'Avila is kept as a relic a foot of the saint.

In the adjoining monastery there is a modern drug-store which is an inheritor of famous 17th century spices-shop which worked for the court of Pope. It still has its old furniture and nearly unchanged interior.

Address:
Church of Santa Maria della Scala
Piazza della Scala, 23
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Church of Santa Maria della Scala is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "29"
Hours: Open 9:00am-12:00pm 03:30pm-06:00pm. Mass times: Holidays: 11:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Weekdays: 17:30
Telephone: 0039 06 5806233
Fax: 0039 06 5806233

As you visit 'Church of Santa Maria della Scala' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a

Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione

The Arch-confraternity of S.Maria in Portico della Consolazione e delle Grazie managing the Ospedale della Consolazione, the hospital built in 1470 adjoining

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Vittoria, Rome

The church grew on the site of a little chapel dedicated to St Paul. The monks Carmelites had the work begun in 1608 by C.Maderno and Filippo Breccioli, who

Church Santa Maria della Quercia

Julius II gave permission to the colony from Viterbo which occupied this part of the zone to build a church dedicated to Madonna under the title of Sanctuary