Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima - National Church of Germans

"Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima - National Church of Germans" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

Bell tower of Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima

This is a national Catholic church of Germans. Chiesa di S.Maria dell'Anima (Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima) was erected in the middle of the vast property of the German colony in Rome: hospices, hospitals, inns and private houses. The church and its hospice were begun after the Jubilee of 1350 on the site of some constructions that were purchased by two rich German pilgrims with the goal to build a church. In 1806 Francis I of Austria rearranged in radical manner the institute which grew with the centuries around the church. At present it continues its activity with the title "Pontificio Istituto teutonico di S.Maria dell'Anima".

Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima - National Church of Germans, Via di Santa Maria dell'Anima, rome entrance of Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima
The church was rebuilt in the modern form in occasion of the Jubilee of 1500 with the German architectural taste. The facade is by G.da Sangallo, and is divided in three by pilasters. Thee entrances of beautiful classicist forms are attributed to A.Sansovino, who also sculptured a relief over the central door "Madonna fra due anime purganti", i.e. Madonna between two souls in Purgatory (which gave the name to the Church). Two higher parts of the facade are characterized by the three big centering windows, and by one round window over them having on both sides the coat-of-arms of the Empire and Hadrian VI, master and adviser of Charles V, who was the last not Italian pope before 1978.

Interior has an unusual plan, derived from late Gothic German churches; it represents a great hall with the three naves of the same height, decorated by paintings in the vault and on the walls by Ludovico Seitz (1875-1882). On each side there are four chapels rich with the works of art by F.Salviati, Lorenzetto, N.di Baccio Bigio, Sermoneta, G.Romano, C.Saraceni. Important funeral monuments prove the presence of Germans in Rome for centuries: monument to Hadrian VI, by B.Peruzzi.

The bell-tower was built in 1502 and its author is unknown. This bell-tower, attributed without any basis to Bramante, is among the most beautiful ones of the city: with Renaissance mullioned windows is crowned by ledges with railings, Gothic-style pinnacles and Ionian cusp. The interior has three naves divided by curious asymmetries by pilasters in cruciform sections, high and subtle, and with side chapels that rise up to the vault. The interior structure of the church is altogether the typical one of the German "Hallenkirchen" (church-hall). To the left of the church is Casa Sander (1508), restored in 1873, and served as the hospice for German pilgrims.

Address:
Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima - National Church of Germans
Via di Santa Maria dell'Anima, 66
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Parione (Navona-Campo de' Fiori) (Roma centro)
Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima - National Church of Germans is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "51"
Hours: Open 07:30am-01:00pm 02:00pm-06:00pm. Mass times: Holidays: 10.00, Weekdays: 18.00, Before holidays: 18.00. All in German. Schedules are subject to change. Call before you visit.
Tel.: 06.68.28.18.02 / 06.68.80.13.94
Fax: 06.68.28.18.86
Email: geme...@santa-maria-anima.it
Web site: http://www.santa-maria-anima.it/SMA%20Englisch.htm

As you visit 'Church of Santa Maria dell'Anima - National Church of Germans' you may also like following articles . . .

Church Santa Maria in Monserrato (National Church of Spain in Rome)

Construction of this Roman Catholic titulus church was began in 1518 by A.da Sangallo the Younger for the Confraternity of S.Maria di Monserrato (the famous

Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains)

The Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Chiesa di S.Maria in Monticelli) was erected on the site of a little hill formed by the rests of the old houses; this

Church of Santa Francesca Romana (Former Santa Maria Nova)

After the earthquake in the middle of the 9th century which destroyed S.Maria Antiqua in the Forum, it was abandoned and its diaconate moved to the Oratory of

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Originally it was an Oratory of S.Maria in Trivio (Trivio = three streets crossing in the square in front of it) built by Belisarius in the 6th century, so