Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte

"Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 1st June 2011

The Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte was founded and built in 1576 by the Compagna della buona morte, a confraternity born in 1535 to pick the bodies of died people that were not buried. In 1732-1737 F.Fuga, a member of Compagna, erected a new building of the church, which was heavily restored in 1867.

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte, Via Giulia, rome
Inside there are paintings of C.Ferri (altar piece), P.L.Ghezzi (S.Giuliana Flaconieri), Masucci (Fuga in Egitto), G.Lanfranco (S.Antonio Abate e S.Paolo da Tebe), a copy of S.Michele by G.Reni. The dome is noted for its beauty and among the furniture should be noticed two big silver candlesticks (1703).

Beneath the church was arranged a cemetery where in the period of 1552-1896 were buried some 8000 bodies. In 1598 a terrible flood took place, and corpse from this cemetery were drawn by the waters till Ostia, where the members of the Confraternity had to pool them out of the river. The cemetery was demolished in the end of past century for the construction of the Lungotevere (river walls).

On the main entrance there is an hourglass symbolizing death. In the oval-shaped interior were moved the frescoes that adorned the Farnese hermitage, a work by Giovanni Lanfranco representing figures of hermits. The crypt holds the burials of the brotherhood with characteristic macabre compositions.

Address:
Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte
Via Giulia, 262
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "4"
For Transportation, Visit: Palazzo dei Tribunali (Palace of Tribunals) Now Hotel St. George Roma
Hours: Open Sunday 04:00pm-07:00pm. Closed July and August. Mass times: Sunday: 18.00.
Tel. 06-68.80.68.62.

As you visit 'Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Santa Catherine of Alexandria (S. Caterina della Rota)

The primitive little church, documented since 1186, had the name of S.Maria in Catenariis, because was annexed to the hospital for the people redeemed from the

Church of Santa Maria del Pianto

The church was erected in 1608-1612 on the site of more ancient church (S.Salvatore de'Cacabariis) and was destined to save and honour the image of the Virgin

Church /Chiesa di Santa Maria Maddalena in Campo Marzio, Rome

St Camillo de'Lellis, a soldier, who for many years assisted the sick people in the Roman Hospital S.Giacomo degli Incurabili and founded a Congregation "

Church of Santa Caterina of Siena at Via Giulia

This Church of Santa Catherine of Siena at Via Giulia (Chiesa di Santa Caterina da Siena a Via Giulia) grew on the site of the old "castrum senese", center of

Church Santa Maria in Monserrato (National Church of Spain in Rome)

Construction of this Roman Catholic titulus church was began in 1518 by A.da Sangallo the Younger for the Confraternity of S.Maria di Monserrato (the famous