Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains)

"Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 4th June 2011

The Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Chiesa di S.Maria in Monticelli) was erected on the site of a little hill formed by the rests of the old houses; this fact determined the name of the church (monticelli = little mountains). The church is very old, it is on basilica plan and was restored for the first time in 1101 by Pascal II; it still conserves the fragments of apse mosaics. But restorations of 1715 by Matteo Sassi and of 1860 by F.Azzurri, had all the other signs of ancient construction disappear. Outside remained a Romanesque bell-tower dating from the first half of the 12th century.

Chiesa di S.Maria in Monticelli, Via di Santa Maria in Monticelli, rome Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains), Via di Santa Maria in Monticelli, rome
This eighteenth century facade by Matteo Sassi embodies two orders: the former presents a gate that leads into the atrium; the latter, instead, a big arched window with a balcony. The interior presents a plan based on three naves and three chapels per side. In the medieval apse one finds a fragment of a mosaic from C. XII portraying the Redentore’s face. The church also houses works by Italian artists such as Mariani, Carracci (“Flagellazione”), Ruspi, Cariani and Conca. One of the chapels also holds a wooden Crocifisso from C.XIV.

Address:
Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains)
Via di Santa Maria in Monticelli, 28
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "23"
Hours: Open 07:00am-08:00am, 05:30pm-08:00pm. Closed August. Mass times: Everyday: 19: 00
Telephone: 0039 06 68802292
Fax: 0039 06 68300049
Email: curi...@libero.it

As you visit 'Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Santa Maria del Pianto

The church was erected in 1608-1612 on the site of more ancient church (S.Salvatore de'Cacabariis) and was destined to save and honour the image of the Virgin

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Church /Chiesa di Santa Maria Maddalena in Campo Marzio, Rome

St Camillo de'Lellis, a soldier, who for many years assisted the sick people in the Roman Hospital S.Giacomo degli Incurabili and founded a Congregation "

Church of Santa Francesca Romana (Former Santa Maria Nova)

After the earthquake in the middle of the 9th century which destroyed S.Maria Antiqua in the Forum, it was abandoned and its diaconate moved to the Oratory of

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome

The church was erected in 1664-1679 by C.Rainaldi to preserve a miraculous image of Madonna, which was found on the wall close to Porta del Popolo and placed