Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria (Piscaria)

"Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria (Piscaria)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

The Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria (Piscaria) was founded in 755 by pope Stephen II, who built it on the site of ruins remained from Portico d'Ottavia (Portico of Octavia). The structure of the church dates with the 15th century, adapted and decorated in 1610 by the wish of cardinal Andrea Peretti. In the Middle Ages this church was the center of intensive city life.

Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria, Via della Tribuna di Campitelli
Portico of Octavia was once a rectangular portico (119m x 132m) with about 300 columns, which enclosed two temples, dedicated to Jupiter and Juno. Erected by Quinto Cecilio Metello in 146 b.C. it was reconstructed by Augustus in honor of his sister Octavia in 33-23 b.C., and restored by Septimius Severus in 203.

The entrances consisted of two propylaea with eight columns and four piers; the one on the southwest survives and serves as a monumental entrance to the church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria.
interior of Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria.
The portico was used from the 12th century as a fish market (it. pescheria) until the destruction of the Ghetto in 1880. The church was rebuilt in the 16th century and contains a fresco of the Madonna with Child and angels, attributed to B.Gozzoli or his school, and an early 12th century Madonna and Child. From this church Cola di Rienzo and his followers set out to seize the Capitol on the night of Pentecost, 1347. Here from 1584 until the 19th century the Jews were forced to listen to a Christian sermon every Saturday.

Other improvements were made, and the church now possesses a posterior porch with a colonnade that reaches the entry portal. The interior has three naves. On top of the entrance one can admire a spectacular organ donated by the community of the fish mongers. At the center of the vault there is a fresco depicting the “Gloria di Sant’Andrea” by Innocenzo Sacconi.In the second chapel on the left one finds Benozzo Gozzoli’s fresco “Madonnacol Bambino e angeli” (1450). In the church there is also a crucifix from C.XVI.

Address:
Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria (Piscaria)
Via della Tribuna di Campitelli, 6
00186, Ghetto, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Sant'Angelo (Portico Ottavia-Teatro Marcello) (Roma centro)
Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria (Piscaria) is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "3"
Bus: 23-60-65-710-718-774
Hours: Open Wednesday 16:00-21:00 Saturday 16:00-21:00
Telephone: 0039 06 68801819
Fax: 0039 06 68809835

As you visit 'Church of Sant'Angelo in Pescheria (Piscaria)' you may also like following articles . . .

Gozzoli, Benozzo (1420-1497) Benozzo di Lese

Benozzo Gozzoli, named Benozzo di Lese, Italian painter, was born in Florence in 1420 and died in Pistoia in 1497. He began his successful artistic carrier as

Church of San Tommaso ai Cenci

This church was built by the wish of the Cenci family, which could trace its origins back to the 14th century. This was the time when they started a very

Church of San Nicola in Carcere (Prison) and Its 3 Temples (Templi)

The main characteristic of this Chiesa di San Nicola in Carcere (Basilica or Church of St. Nicholas in Prison/ Cardinal Titular Church) is the fact that it was

A stroll at the Theatre of Marcellus, Rome

An archeological area of 10.000 square metres in the heart of the city, right by the Capitoline hill. An enchanting pedestrian area immersed in history:

Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta)

The name of the church comes from the places of its location: the houses of Anici, where St.Gregory Magno should have been born. The first news about the