Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari

"Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 1st July 2011

The Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari (Chiesa di San Eligio dei Ferrari) was built in 1562 over the site of the medieval Chiesetta di S.Giacomo d'Altopasso, by the Arch-confraternity of S.Eligio. In 1453 Nicolas V rearranged the Organization of Iron Smiths (Universita dei Ferrari) and gave it this church with the intention to build a hospice adjoining to it.

facade of Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari
Starting from the Middle Ages the representatives of different professions were united in corporations of their trade according to precise rules of access, work and mutual solidarity. To any of them was attached some religious confraternity and that is why every professional corporation had its own church or oratory, entitled after the saint of the religious confraternity, who protected the workers of the corporation. One saint could be protector of numerous kind of professions, like for example, S.Eligio was the saint of iron smiths, gold-smiths, gunsmiths, copper smiths, key-makers, nail-makers, knife-grinders, tower clockmakers and farriers.
Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari. nave of Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari
The church underwent many changes during the centuries. The facade has a fake brick structure and a large central window. It was reconstructed in the twentieth century C.XX with sixteenth -century designs. The interior has a plan with three naves and six marble altars. The roof has bears the symbol of the Università dei Ferrari (1604). The apse isrich in marbles and stuccoes. The main altar was constructed in 1640.

Till our days the Chiesa di S.Eligio dei Ferrari is managed by the same Arch-confraternity; and conserved the baroque aspect.

Address:
Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari (Chiesa di San Eligio dei Ferrari)
Via di San Giovanni Decollato, 9
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo - Bocca Verità - Aventino) (Roma centro)
Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "42"
Hours: Holidays: 10:00am-01:00pm. Mass times: Holidays: 11:00am.
Telephone: 0039 06 6798033 (parroco) - 06 6781654 (sagrestia).

As you visit 'Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici

S.Eligio, who was a goldsmith and a bishop of Noyon in France, is venerated in two different churches of the corporations of this profession. Apart from this

Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)

Starting from the 16th century it was the Polish center. Gregory XIII gave to cardinal Osio an old church Chiesa di S.Salvatore in pensili de Sorraca, which

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti was built in the 5th century and was decorated with the mosaics in 460 by Eastern Roman consul Flavius Ricimerus. During

Church of San Giovanni Decollato

The Church of San Giovanni Decollato (Chiesa di S.Giovanni Decollato) construction was begun over the site of the Chiesa di S.Maria della Fossa (1190) in 1488

Church/ Chiesa di San Francesco di Paola (Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola)/ National Church for Calabrians

A rich person originally from Calabria region, devoted to the Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola, acquired in the beginning of the 17th century a large