Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina

"Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 27th June 2011

This Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina was built over the other lower church dedicated to S.Martina and built in the 6th century inside of the constructions annexed to the ancient Curia of Senators. Sixtus V in 1588 gave the church to the Accademia di S.Luca, a corporation of artists founded in the 2nd half of the 15th century. They received it in substitution of the Chiesetta di S.Luca, the primitive seat close to S.Maria Maggiore, which was demolished for the arrangement of the Piazzale dell'Esquilino. Thus Chiesa di S.Martina received another dedication to S.Luca.

Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina
The level of the original construction was risen already in the beginning of the 16th century. Restoration was conducted in 1634-1666 by P.da Cortona, "prince" of Accademia. He spent not only his time and work on this church, but also his money. But when the bodies of the martyrs were found here, Urban VIII decided to give it a splendid aspect, confirming the en-charge of P.da Cortona with the adequate financing. So, the coat-of-arms of the Urban VIII still can be seen on the top of the facade and his bees spread inside and outside of the construction.

The convex façade with two orders ends with a big fascia on which the Urbano VIII’s coat of arms, held by angels, towers over. The dome with the little lantern appears backwards compared to the façade. The two stories, the upper dedicated to S.Luca and the lower to S.Martina, have an original and complex design. The church is on a Greek-cross plan and is characterized by columns and a dome with a high lantern.
the facade of Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina.
On the left and right altars there are paintings of L.Baldi and S.Conca. In the lower church, in a chapel on the left are the tombs of Saints Martina, Epifanio and Concordio, and a tabernacle by P.da Cortona. The side chapel with a pretty scallop motif has a fine terracotta group of the three saints by A.Algardi. In the vestibule, statuettes by C.Fancelli, and a bas-relief of the Deposition by A.Algardi. In the church were buried P.da Cortona, O.Mascherino, G.Rainaldi, G.B.Soria, Pomarancio and L.Baldi.

The sculptures of the Evangelists in the pendentives of the dome are 18th century additions sculpted by Filippo della Valle, Camillo Rusconi, and Giovanni Battista Maini. To the right of the entrance is the monument to Carlo Pio Balestra (1776) by Tommaso Righi and a Monument to Giovanna Garzoni by Mattia De Rossi.

Note: The church is currently closed for restoration.

Address:
Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina
Via della Curia, 2
00186 , Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano- Campidoglio-P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "9"
Telephone: 0039 06 6795205

As you visit 'Church of Santi Luca (SS.) Luca e Martina' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Carpegna/ Accademia di San Luca (Academy of Saint Luke Gallery), Rome

It was erected by a pupil of G.Della Porta in the end of the 16th century - beginning of the 17th century for the Vaini family. Later it passed to the Carpegna

Giordano, Luca (1634-1705)

Luca Giordano, Italian painter, was born and died in Naples in 1634-1705. After a short experience in the work shop of J.Ribera, Giordano went to Rome at the

Beltrami, Luca (1854-1933)

Luca Beltrami, Italian architect, was born in Milan in 1854 and died in Rome in 1933. He was one the greatest representatives of the historical restoration, a

Signorelli, Luca (circa 1445-1523)

Luca Signorelli, Italian painter, was born and died in Cortona in circa 1455 - 1523. The first news about him appeared in 1470. He was probably the pupil of

Baldi, Lazzaro (circa 1624-1703)

Lazzaro Baldi, Italian painter, was born in Pistoia in circa 1624 and died in Rome in 1703. He was a follower of P.da Cortona: frescoes in S.Giovanni in Oleo (