Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta)

"Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta)

The name of the church comes from the places of its location: the houses of Anici, where St.Gregory Magno should have been born. The first news about the church was documented in 1145 where were mentioned the very old origins of it but the epoch of its foundation is not clear.

The modern look was given to the construction in 1729 when Benedict XIII ordered its restoration and gave it to the Congregation of the Workers of Divine Charity helping noble and rich people who became poor. The project belonged to Filippo Barigioni who provided designs for exterior and interior of the construction. The decorations were executed by Stefano Parrocel. Because of its close position to the Ghetto, the church was used for anti-Jewish religious propaganda. Further restoration works took place in 1858 and the facade was renewed in 1995.

The facade has two orders. On top of the portal is worth mentioning a stuccoed oval frame with the representation of a crucifixion by Etienne Parrocel. The interior has a single nave. The ceiling vault has frescoes by Giuseppe Sereni. On the right and left altars there are paintings dating back to the mid-18th century, while on the high altar is the 17th century “Madonna of the Divine Providence” by Gilles Hallet.

Address:
Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta)
Piazza di Monte Savello, 9
00186, Ghetto, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Sant'Angelo (Portico Ottavia-Teatro Marcello) (Roma centro)
Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta) is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "2"
Hours: Masses: Masses: Weekdays 8.00am, Holidays 11.00am.
Telephone: +39 06 68803978 - 68802360

As you visit 'Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio)

The Church of San Gregorio Magno al Celio/Santi Andrea e Gregorio al Celio/ San Gregorio Magno al Celio or simply San Gregorio on the Caelian Hill was erected

Church /Chiesa di San Gregorio Nazianzeno, Rome

The church is dedicated to the Greek saint, who's body was brought to Rome by runaway nuns from Constantinopolis. It grew on the site of the Roman construction

Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo (San Carlino) alle Quattro Fontane

The church is dedicated to the SS.Trinita' and to St Charles Borromeo (S.Carlo), but it is popularly called "S.Carlino" because of its reduced dimensions. They

Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery

The name of the Basilica/ Church and Monastery of Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati (Chiesa dei SS.Quattro Coronati/ Basilica dei Santi Quattro Coronati al laterano

Palazzo del Monte di Pieta

Monte di Pieta' is a religious organization founded for charity purpose by a minor brother Giovanni Maltei da Calvi in 1539. Monte's activity consisted of