"Church/Chiesa dei SS.Ambrogio e Carlo (San Carlo al Corso), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 11th January 2012
Popularly the church is named Chiesa di S.Carlo al Corso. It is a "national" church of Lombards in Rome, built on the site of previous little medieval church of S.Nicola de Tofo. It was assigned to the Confraternity of Lombards by Sixtus IV as a sign of his favour to the colony of immigrants consisted in its greater part of masons, builders and other construction workers, who served a lot on the construction of roads, buildings and etc. projected by the pope.
It is considered one of the most important churches of the Roman baroque and belongs to the Arciconfraternita della Nazione Lombarda in Rome. In a niche behind the altar behind the ambulatory surrounding the presbitory, unique example in Rome, is the precious relic of San Carlo’s heart, conceded to the church by Federico Borromeo in 1614.
The old church was destroyed in 1513 to erect bigger one dedicated to S.Ambrogio, patron of Milan, but in 1612 Confraternity wanted to build even bigger church dedicated to S.Carlo Borromeo, canonized in that epoch.
The project was by O.Longhi, and the work was continued by his son M.Longhi the Younger and P.da Cortona, who in 1668-1669 created a dome, his last masterpiece, and projected internal decoration. The modest facade was realized in 1690. The title of S.Ambrogio was adjoined to the one of S.Carlo. On the left of the church was built a palace which served as a seat of Confraternity's oratory, hospice and hospital.
Vast interior 72mx54m gives an impression of space. On the ceiling of the central nave is a fresco of G.Brandi; on the high altar is a big painting "The Madonna presenting San Carlo to Christ" by C.Maratta, one of his best works; the church preserves the heart of S.Carlo.
Church/Chiesa dei SS.Ambrogio e Carlo (San Carlo al Corso)
Via del Corso 437,
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro)
Church/Chiesa dei SS.Ambrogio e Carlo (San Carlo al Corso) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "18"
Hours: Open 07.00am-07.00pm, Weekdays: 07:30am-12:30pm-06:30pm, Holidays: 08:00am-09:30am-11:00am-12:30pm-06:30pm
Tel. 06-681 9171
Getting To Church/Chiesa dei SS.Ambrogio e Carlo (San Carlo al Corso) From Church/Chiesa di S.Rocco (San Rocco all'Augusteo):
Departure from roma via di ripetta , 1
walk 200 meters
to roma via del corso , 1
distance covered (metres) 200 meters.