Cinemas, Night Clubs, Live Music

Palazzo delle Esposizioni

La sala Cinema at Palazzo delle Esposizioni, rome It was built by the project of P.Piacentini in 1878-1882 and opened in 1883. As an important exhibition center, due to a danger of collapse in 1986, it has been radically restored, and a new system of illumination has been installed. The palace was reopened to public in 1990. The Palazzo delle Esposizioni is the largest multidisciplinary exhibition center in Rome’s downtown...

Palazzo delle Scuderie/ Scuderie del Quirinale/ Quirinal or Papal Stables

Palazzo delle Scuderie/ Scuderie del Quirinale/ Quirinal or Papal Stables After the Palazzo del Quirinale was finished the necessity to create the square in front of it appeared. In 1722 Innocent XIII ordered A.Specchi construction of a palace in that part of the square where it bordered Giardino Colonna. It was adapted for the guard barracks and horse stables. The new palace was completed under Clement XII by F.Fuga. A part of it was destroyed in...

Palazzo Rospigliosi Pallavicini (Rospigliosi Pallavicini Palace and Garden)

Palazzo Rospigliosi Pallavicini (Rospigliosi Pallavicini Palace and Garden) This palace stands in the center of the zone, which previously was occupied by the Baths of Constantine, and where until the 17th century the ancient ruins could be seen. Scipione Borghese wanted to build a palace-villa beside a new papal residence in Palazzo Quirinale, and ordered to clean the area from any construction located on it. The palace and a vast garden on the slope...

Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso/ Oratorio Musicale Romano (musical institution)

Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso/ Oratorio Musicale Romano (musical institution) Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso [Chiesa (Oratorio) of Santissimo Crocifisso)] was built by G.Della Porta in 1568 on the ancient ruins adapted for the hay-loft and on a medieval religious construction, for the Confraternity of Crucifix. The confraternity was founded to venerate the Crucifix (crocefisso) from nearby Chiesa di S.Marcello. The Brotherhood of the Crocifisso was...

Teatro Argentina (Argentina Theatre) In Largo di Torre Argentina

Teatro Argentina (Argentina Theatre) In Largo di Torre Argentina The Teatro Argentina, owned by the noble Sforza Cesarini family, was opened on 13th January 1732 with Domenico Sarro's opera Berenice. The spot on which the Teatro Argentina stands, however, has a much more ancient history. Indeed, it was once the site of the great senate hall, known as the Curia Pompeii, where Julius Caesar was assassinated and which his adopted son, Augustus...

Domus Romane di (Roman Domus at) Palazzo Valentini (Seat of the Province of Rome)

Palazzo Valentini, seat of the Province of Rome since 1873, was commissioned to be built in 1585 by Cardinal Michele Bonelli, a nephew of Pope Pius V. In the seventeenth century it underwent renovation and a series of extensions were added by Cardinal Carlo Bonelli and Michele Ferdinando Bonelli. This harmonious simple palace was built on the remains of a temple, dedicated by...

Mercati di Traiano (Trajan's Market) - Imperial Forum Museum (Museo dei Fori Imperiali)

Imperial Forum Museum (Museo dei Fori Imperiali), rome, italy Mercati di Traiano (Trajan's Market) is part of the Forum of Traian was also projected by A.of Damascus, as a complex of nearly 150 individual shops. Here all the goods exported from other regions of Roman empire were brought and sold. The market was erected in the end of the 1st century A.D. - 117 A.D. The six storeyed construction is subdivided in two by a street Via...

Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House)

Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House) This is one of the most important lyric theatres in Italy. It was born in 1880 in course of development of the new city neighbourhood in direction to the Railway station, which in that epoch was called the neighborhood De Merode. It occupied a part of the territory of the old Villa Strozzi-Albani. The theatre was in the beginning called "Teatro Costanzi" after Domenico...

Roman Aquarium Architecture House (Casa dell'Architettura all'Acquario Romano)

Roman Aquarium Architecture House (Casa dell'Architettura all'Acquario Romano) This typical construction of the Umbertine's epoch was unveiled in 1885, but after a short time the aquarium was closed and its building was adapted for different needs. This rather grand building was designed as Rome's aquarium (and its name is still the Acquario Romano, Roman Aquarium). Located close to Stazione Termini, Now it serves as a store for the scene decorations of...

Sapienza University City (Città Universitaria) and Its 21 Museums

Sapienza University City (Città Universitaria) and Its 21 Museums Citta Unisersitaria is one of the northern areas of Rome, sitting of Roman’s universities, such as Universita' Degli Studi Di Roma 'La Sapienza', Centro Universitario Sportivo. This University City (Città Universitaria) was built in 1932-1935 according to a project of M.Piacentini and, later, of other architects, to house the ancient "Studium Urbis", which had its traditional...

Walking Along Gianicolo (or Janiculum) Hill - A Breathtaking View

Walking Along Gianicolo (or Janiculum) Hill - A Breathtaking View The Janiculum is not counted as one of the Seven Hills of Rome and was nicknamed the "8th hill". The name of Janiculum Hill (Monte Gianicolo) is derived from the name of the king of Latium, Janus, who, according to legend, founded a city on the hill. Numa Pompilius, the Sabine successor of Romulus, was buried on the Janiculum, and Ancus Marcius, the 4th king of Rome, is said...

Former Teatro di Pompeo (Pompey Theatre) is Now Teatro Dei Satiri (Satiric Theatre)

Teatro Dei Satiri (Satiric Theatre), rome The semicircular street Via di Grottapinta corresponds the to the auditorium of the first and the greatest stone theatre in ancient Rome, Teatro di Pompeo or Theatre of Pompey, built in 61 and 55 b.C.. The diameter of the auditorium reached 150m, the scene was 90m wide, and on the top was erected a Temple of Venice. Behind the scene of the theatre a rectangular portico 180m x...

Oratorio del Gonfalone (Oratory of the Banner)

Oratorio del Gonfalone (Oratory of the Banner) This Oratory of the Banner (Oratorio del Gonfalone) belonged to a powerful Confraternity of S.Lucia del Gonfalone and was built in the 16th century. The facade presents two orders (the first one dates back to 16th century, while the second one, baroque, is by Domenico Castelli). The first one embodies a portal with a decorated tympanum. The upper order, on the other hand,...

Church of Santa Lucia del Gonfalone (Chiavica di S.Lucia)

The church was also named "della chiavica" for its close position to an important sewer, which on its turn bore the name of "Chiavica di S.Lucia" taken from the church. The church was built in the end of the 13th - beginning of the 14th centuries. Devotion for the Siracusian Virgin gave birth to particular celebrations of her feast very popular in this zone. S.Lucia della...

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace) was probably erected for cardinal Fieschi in 1505 and by mistake was attributed to Bramante. The palace passed the the Boncompagni, dukes of Sora, in the epoch of pope Gregory XIII, who belonged to this family. In 1831 it was adapted to the infantry barracks, and after 1870, it was partly demolished to lay out Corso Vittorio Emanuele. The...