"Collegio Innocenziano (College of Innocent) on Piazza Navona" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 11th June 2011
The Collegio Innocenziano (College of Innocent) is a part of a great complex construction created by the Pamphili on Piazza Navona, located on the right of the church of St Agnes. It was built by Borromini in 1654, on the site of demolished Palazzo Rivaldi. The College of Innocent, whose name comes from Pope Innocent X Pamphilj, was constructed during his pontificate (1644-1655) for the purpose of preparing young boys born on the Pamphilj properties for the ecclesiastic life.
The children arrived in Rome at the age of seven and lived in the college while continuing their studies at the Roman schools; their expenses were covered by the first born prince. Based on the Pamphilj patronage, the family could also choose the cardinal protector of the church as well as the rector and officiating clergy.
The present palace has three facades. On the noble floor is the hall of library consisting of the books of Innocent X, various cardinals Pamphili and Clement VIII Aldobrandini. The vault of the library was frescoed by Francesco Cozza with "Glory of the Pamphili".
The Collegio Innocenziano and the Chiesa di Sant’Agnese in Agone were commissioned to Borromini, although it was Bernini who completed the church. In 1654 the old building was demolished to build the sacristy of St. Agnes in Agone and the College. Francesco Borromini, the architect, already worked for the Pamphilj's on the princely palace in Piazza Navona.
It occupies an area that goes between via dell'Anima and via di S. Agnese and looks onto piazza Navona with a facade whose serliana appears as the Borromini hallmark of the Pamphilj's. The same three-mullioned window with central arced opening and two lateral trabeatas are also found in the building next to the facade of St. Agnes. The projection of the spiral ramp of access to the noble apartments and courtyard are due to Borromini.
The palace was a seat of a college founded by pope Innocent X for young people born on the territory possessions of the Pamphili family. The ambititions of a single family, The Pamphilj, engendered this remarkable change. Pope Innocent X (1644-55) sought to proclaim his family's identity through a building program, including the monumental palace, church of S. Agnese in Agone, Collegio Innocenziano, and Gianlorenzo Bernini's Fountain of the Four Rivers and Fountain of the Moor. The Pamphilj endowed the entire urban space with its indelible presence.
Collegio Innocenziano (College of Innocent) on Piazza Navona
Piazza Navona 24/27
On the right of the church of St Agnes, across the Fontana dei Fiumi (Fountain of Rivers)
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Parione (Navona-Campo de' Fiori) (Roma centro)
Collegio Innocenziano (College of Innocent) on Piazza Navona is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "56"
Bus: 70 - 81 - 87 - 116 - 116T - 186 - 204 - 492 - 628