"Via dei Fori Imperiali and Fontana dei Fori Imperiali (Fountain of Imperial Fora)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 11th May 2011
This street was laid out in 1932 by B.Mussolini as the Via dell'Impero, through the destruction of entire district and cut of a slope of the Velia altitude, for connection of Piazza Venezia with the Colosseum. The opening of this road wiped out one of the most extraordinary zones of the city where various strata of Renaissance and medieval buildings lay above the ruins of the ancient forums. Its dimensions are 850m (length) x 80m (width). There were demolished 5,000 buildings, removed 280,000cu.meters of ground and 50,000cu.meters of tufaceous rock. Its course takes it over parts of the Forum of Trajan, Forum of Augustus and Forum of Nerva, parts of which can be seen on both sides of the road. There has in recent years been a great deal of archeological excavation on both sides of the road, as significant Imperial Roman items remain to be found under it.
The Cultural Heritage Department of the Municipality of Rome included the project of the Imperial Forums into its Jubilee Year Program. The project completes the first stage of the digging works recently initiated in the Forum of Nerva. The works will involve an area of 14,000 sq.m. along Via dei Fori Imperiali, where 3,500 sq.m. of the Forum of Caesar, 5,500 sq.m. of the Temple of Peace and 6,000 sq.m. of the Forum of Trajan will be unearthed. Archaeological works of such magnitude and scientific value in downtown Rome are an unprecedented challenge.
The fountain consists of a granite pond with two side masks that rests on a support placed in the middle of a larger oval marble pond. The monument is enclosed within an apse-shaped niche in the wall that contains the Velia Hill, destroyed to make room for the new layout of Via dei Fori Imperiali, at that time called Via dell’Impero.
The fountain is a work by the architect Antonio Muñoz, who is also responsible for all the works to make the new route of the road (1931-1932) that was required to serve as a connection between Piazza Venezia and the Southern part of the city with its new quarters. The granite pond of the Roman age comes from the excavations in Porto and was found in 1696. It was donated by pope Innocent the Twelfth Pignatelli (1691-1700) to the Curia Innocenziana that was situated in Palazzo Montecitorio, where it decorated the nymphaeum in the courtyard, work by Carlo Fontana. After being removed and deposited in the depots of the Municipality during the works to transform Palazzo Montecitorio into the residence of the new Parliament, it was inserted by Muñoz in his project for Via dei Fori Imperiali.
Via dei Fori Imperiali and Fontana dei Fori Imperiali (Fountain of Imperial Fora)
Via dei Fori Imperiali
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano- Campidoglio-P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Via dei Fori Imperiali and Fontana dei Fori Imperiali (Fountain of Imperial Fora) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "133"
Bus: H - 40 - 60 - 64 - 70 - 117 - 170/ 60 - 75 - 85 - 87 - 117 - 175 - 186 - 810 - 850
Underground Metro: Metro B Fermata Colosseo
Hours: The Imperial Fora are not open to the public. They are currently open only during special events.
Admission and Ticketing: The area of the Roman Fora can be seen for free from Via dei Fori Imperiali. To visit Trajan's Markets and Forum you must purchase a ticket at the Imperial Fora Museum ticket office.