"Via della Conciliazione, Borgo, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011
This street is a realization of ancient projects about opening the perspective from Tiber to St Peter's, represented continuously for many centuries. It was begun in 1936 and finished in 1950. This construction caused destruction of many interesting examples of architecture. Two rows of obelisks with lamps on the top create a visual effect covering the irregularity of side buildings, so the street seems straight enough.
Via della Conciliazione (Road of the Conciliation) is a street in the Rione of Borgo within Rome, central Italy. Roughly 500 m in length, it connects Saint Peter's Square to the Castel Sant'Angelo on the western bank of the Tiber River. The road was constructed between 1936 and 1950, and it is the primary access route to the Square. In addition to shops and residences, it is bordered by a number of historical and religious buildings – including the Palazzo Torlonia, the Palazzo dei Penitenzieri and the Palazzo dei Convertendi, and the churches of Santa Maria in Traspontina and Santo Spirito in Sassia.
The name comes from the Lateran Treaty concluded between the Vatican and Italian state in February 1929. The "Latern Treaty" in Italian is "Conciliazione". Near: San Pietro, Via della Conciliazione, Passetto di Borgo, Castel Sant'Angelo.
And yet, less than 60 years ago Via della Conciliazione did not exist. What did the path from the Castel Sant' Angelo to St. Peter's Basilica look like before Via della Conciliazione sliced its way through? What relics of ancient Rome were displaced or destroyed to create it, and why? And why is it the most disliked avenue in Rome?
The construction of the road was only a small feature in the reconstruction of Rome ordered by Mussolini, which ranged from the restoration of the Castel Sant'Angelo, the clearance of the Mausoleum of Augustus, to the vastly more complicated site of the Via dell'Impero through Rome's ancient imperial remains. His plan was to transform Rome into a monument to Italian fascism.
In five years, Rome must appear marvellous to all the peoples of the world; vast, orderly, powerful, as it was in the time of the first empire of Augustus. Construction of the road continued long after Mussolini's death and the abolition of Italian Fascism. The final obelisk was installed in time for the Jubilee of 1950. Today since its completion, the road has acted as the primary access point to St. Peter's Square, and by extension to the Vatican City itself. At times, such as during the funeral of Pope John Paul II, it has acted as an extension to the square itself, allowing a greater number of visitors to attend functions conducted there.
Via della Conciliazione (Road of the Conciliation)
Via della Conciliazione, 4, Borgo,
00193 Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Borgo (Castel Sant'Angelo) (Roma centro)
Via della Conciliazione is Shown By "Map D Zone" As "21"
Subway: Ottaviano (882 m N), Metro A
Tel: +39 06 488991