Domus Romane di (Roman Domus at) Palazzo Valentini (Seat of the Province of Rome)

"Domus Romane di (Roman Domus at) Palazzo Valentini (Seat of the Province of Rome)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 12th May 2011

Palazzo Valentini, seat of the Province of Rome since 1873, was commissioned to be built in 1585 by Cardinal Michele Bonelli, a nephew of Pope Pius V. In the seventeenth century it underwent renovation and a series of extensions were added by Cardinal Carlo Bonelli and Michele Ferdinando Bonelli.

This harmonious simple palace was built on the remains of a temple, dedicated by Hadrian to Trajan, in the late 16th century for cardinal Michele Bonelli by the project of Domenico Paganelli da Faenza. Afterwards it belonged to cardinal Renato Imperiali, who had it reconstructed by Francesco Paparelli. The same cardinal placed here an important library, which inheritor still exist and open to public. The following owners of the palace, the Valentini, collected here a notable art gallery. A beautiful doorway leads to a vestibule and an ample courtyard with some ancient statues and the new one, presented in 1998 to the Administration of Roman Province (Provincial Government Council Administrative Headquarters of Rome), which has its seat in this palace since 1870.
Palazzo Valentini (Seat of the Province of Rome), Rome
The building was partially demolished and then rebuilt by Francesco Peparelli for the new owner, Cardinal Renato Imperiali, who but up an important family library (the 'Imperiali' library), comprising about 24,000 volumes. In the early eighteenth century, the building was leased to several prominent figures, including the Marquis Francesco Maria Ruspoli, who lived there between 1705 and 1713, using it as a private theater and offering hospitality to famous musicians of the time, including Georg Friedrich Handel, Alessandro Scarlatti and Arcangelo Corelli. The entire building was then purchased in 1752 by Cardinal Giuseppe Spinelli, who moved the Imperial Library to the ground floor for public use and was often frequented by Johann Joachim Winckelmann. In 1827 the Prussian banker and Consul-General Vincenzo Valentini bought the building, making it his home and giving it its name.

The archaeological excavations under Palazzo Valentini open to the public on a permanent basis from October 16, 2010 and the new archaeological area of the Domus Romane will enhance the art and historic heritage of Rome.
Domus Romane di (Roman Domus at) Palazzo Valentini, rome
The evocative tour runs though the ruins of patrician “Domus” of the imperial era belonging to powerful families of the times, perhaps senators, and the houses are decorated with mosaics, wall paintings, polychrome and paved floors, and other artefacts. Piero Angela and a team of engineers and experts, such as Paco Lanciano and Gaetano Capasso, have enhanced the site and revived the past by creating virtual reconstructions, visual effects and films.

Visitors will be able to see the walls, rooms, peristyles, baths, receiving rooms, decorations, kitchens and furniture “come back to life” and to experience a virtual journey inside an important ancient RomanDomus. A large plastic model of the area as it appeared in Roman times, and showing the various stages of Palazzo Valentini, completes the tour. This maquette enables visitors to visualize the numerous historic stratifications and place themselves inside the urban fabric. it is a unique and important example of how art heritage of the past, that has been recovered by a process of careful and scrupulous restoration and requalification, can be enhanced thanks to the use of innovative technology.

Address:
Domus Romane di (Roman Domus at) Palazzo Valentini (Seat of the Province of Rome)
Via 4 Novembre, 119/a (Via Cesare Battistini 19)
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Domus Romane di (Roman Domus at) Palazzo Valentini (Seat of the Province of Rome) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "134"
Hours: Daily from 9.30 am to 5.00 pm. Closed: Tuesday, December 25, January 1, May 1
Admission, Booking, Ticketing and Guided Tours:
Access is limited for safety reasons. Tours every 30 minutes. Please show up at least 1/2 houre before the visit starts. Guided tours in English: Wednesday-Monday at 1.30 pm; credit card advance booking required at tel. +39 0632810. Guided tours in French: upon request (available time slots: 10.15 am, 11.00 am; 2.45 pm and 3.00 pm); credit card advance booking required at tel. +39 0632810. Booking recommended. A €1,50 booking fee applies to telephone and online bookings. Provincial Council Administrative Headquarters; Tel: 0039 06 67661.
Ticket Price:
Full: €6.00, Reduced: €4.00, Adults: € 6,00; Concessions: € 4,00 (visitors aged 6-25 and over 65 years old and Provinz Card holders). Free Admission: children under 6 years old, disabled citizens with an accompanying carer. Schools: € 4,00 per student + € 12,00 per class. Tickets can be purchased by calling +39 0632810, Buy ticket online at: www.ticketone.it or at the Palazzo Valentini Ticket Office.
Official Website:
http://www.palazzovalentini.it/index.php?lang=eng
http://www.provincia.roma.it/
http://www.civita.it/

As you visit 'Domus Romane di (Roman Domus at) Palazzo Valentini (Seat of the Province of Rome)' you may also like following articles . . .

Roman Houses and Antiquarium of Celio (Case Romane del Celio)

The Basilica of SS. Giovanni e Paolo stands over a complex comprising several Roman houses of different periods. According to tradition, this was the dwelling

Fori Imperiali di Roma (Imperial Fora of Rome/ Roman Imperial Forums)

Construction of Imperial Fora continued for a period of a century and a half, beginning from Julius Caesar and finishing with Traian. With the birth of Roman

Case Romane del Celio (The Roman Complex Houses), Rome

The Roman Complex Houses (Case Romane del Celio) goes back to the second century and was formed from at least three dwelling. The complex of buildings was

Visitor Center at the Roman Imperial Fora/Forums (Fori Imperiali), Rome

The first Visitor Center in Rome, a place that offers information, documentation and a meeting point for tourists and visitors, the starting point for a series

Palace of Septimius Severus (Settimio Severo/ Domus Severiana) on the Palatine Hill

On entering the complex from Via di San Gregorio, head uphill on the Palatine Hill until you come to the first recognizable construction, the Stadium of