"Fatebenefratelli Hospital (Ospedale Fatebenefratelli) of Tiber island" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011
With the expansion of Rome, the various wooden structures of the Isola Tiberina, such as the arcades of the two bridges, were substituted by marble and masonry and the whole structure became a place dedicated to medicine. It is still today, as it can be inferred from the presence of the Fatebenefratelli Hospital (Ospedale Fatebenefratelli).
The hospital occupies the major part of the territory of Isola Tiberina (Tiber island), which was consecrated to the God of medicine Aesculapius who had here his hospital-temple. Its area which is partly occupied by the church of S.Giovanni Calibita and annexed monastery of Benedictians, was taken by a new hospital Congregation of S.Giovanni di Dio in 1584, who's members were nick-named "Fatebenefratelli", the monks used these words (fate bene fratelli) while begging alms and this phrase means "make a good thing, brothers". The hospital was enlarged in the beginning of the 18th century and many years later, in 1930-1935, it was reconstructed by and architect Cesare Bazzani. The interior conserves and old cloister and the decorations of the 18th century.
Fatebenefratelli Hospital (Ospedale Fatebenefratelli) of Tiber island
Via di Ponte Quattro Capi, 39
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo-Bocca Verità-Aventino) (Roma centro)
Fatebenefratelli Hospital (Ospedale Fatebenefratelli) of Tiber island is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "12"
Bus: H - 23 - 63 - 280 - 630 - 780
Tram: service 8
Metro Subway: service B, stop Circo Massimo
Via Ponte Quattro Capi, 39 - 00186 Rome
Phone: +39 06 68371
Official Website of the Fatebenefratelli (Order of the Brothers of St. John of God): http://www.oh-fbf.it/Objects/Home.asp?Lang=Eng