Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)

"Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 5th June 2011

Via Giulia begins in the Florentine quarter of Rome. The first two buildings of the street were of great importance for the Florentine community. The Florentine quarter retains several interesting Renaissance houses; the wide spaces between the windows were decorated with graffiti paintings. At the border of the Florentine quarter in Via dei Banchi Vecchi there was a very ancient hospice for the pilgrims of Bohemia: in 1457 it was renovated by H. Roraw, leader of the Bohemian community; an inscription celebrates Charles IV, King of Bohemia (1346-78) and Holy Roman Emperor (1355-78), who in 1368 came to Rome for the coronation of his fourth wife.

Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi, Via dei Banchi Vecchi, rome Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia, Via dei Banchi Vecchi, Rome
The hospice for pilgrims from Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi) was founded in this house in 931 by a converted king Borsivoglio. It was dedicated to S.Metodio, Orthodox apostle. The first serious restoration took place in 1457 by initiative of Carlo VI of Bohemia. In the 17th century the hospice was united with the another one Trinita' dei Pellegrini by Innocent X.

In this seat, in 1539 was founded a confraternity of Monte di Pieta'. Ospizio dei Pellegrini had separate divisions for male and female pilgrims; the dormitories had nearly 500 beds and the refectories could seat nearly a thousand guests; in addition to the church the establishment had an oratory (lost) in Via delle Zoccolette opposite Collegio Ecclesiastico, where at Vasi's time Jews had to listen to a sermon on Saturdays.

Address:
Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)
Via dei Banchi Vecchi 131/132
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "31"

As you visit 'Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)' you may also like following articles . . .

Ospizio (Hospice) del Clementino

In 1715 pope Clement XI transferred in one part of an old hospice founded by Sixtus V a little hospice for poor girls, who in preparation for the Holy Year of

Church of Santissima (SS.) Trinità Dei Pellegrini

S.Filippo Neri founded in 1548 the Arch-brotherhood of Pilgrims and of Convalescents with a specific goal to arrange the growing crowds of pilgrims arriving to

Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro

The hospice of Piceni is a complex of buildings, cloisters and courtyards, and is annexed to the church of S.Salvatore in Lauro. This is one of the most

Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato)

Before the 19th century when this part of Trastevere was free from constructions of any type, the zone around the Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e

Hospice of 100 Priests/ Old Priests/ San Michele (Ospizio dei Cento Preti/S.Michele)

Pope Sixtus V had D.Fontana build this hospice in 1587, but in the modern construction nearly nothing left from the original one. Sixtus V tried to resolve a