Index of Places

Piazza del Popolo, Rome

Egyptian obelisk in the centre of the Piazza del Popolo, Rome Starting from the Middle Ages it was the main entrance to the city from north. Thus, it was the main meeting place of the foreigners, rather than of Romans. Originally it was a large place limited by the walls and different buildings, with the church of S.Maria del Popolo, from which the name "Piazza del Popolo" derives. The place was turned into a square by Sixtus V, who...

Porta del Popolo/ Porta Flaminia/ Piazzale Flaminio, Rome

Porta del Popolo/ Porta Flaminia/ Piazzale Flaminio, Rome It corresponds to an ancient Porta Flaminia in the Aurelian Walls, which in the 10th century was named Porta S.Valentino, and later took the name of the adjoining to it church of S.Maria del Popolo. The outer facade was erected by Nanni di Baccio Bigio in 1562-1565 under Pius IV. The attic has pope's arms and two colossal statues on both sides of Apostles Peter and Paul, by F....

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria del Popolo, Rome

Chiesa (Church) di S.Maria del Popolo, Rome The church grew out of a chapel built here by Pascal II in 1099 over the tombs of the Domitia family, which were believed to be the haunt of demons, because Nero was buried there. The origin of the name is not certain, and one of the versions is the fact that it was built on expenses of people of Rome (Commune of Rome) (popolo=people). The chapel was enlarged in 1227-1241 by...

Chiesa (Church) di S.Maria di Montesanto (Santa Maria in Montesanto), Rome

Chiesa (Church) di S.Maria di Montesanto (Santa Maria in Montesanto), Rome The church was built in 1662-1679 on the site of the other church, which belonged to Carmelites from Monte Santo in Sicily. It has an elliptical plan with three chapels on each side and a dome. On the high altar is a painting of Vergine di Montesanto (15th century). In presbytery are bronze busts of Alexander VII, Clement IX, Clement X and Innocent XII, all by Girolamo Lucenti...

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome The church was erected in 1664-1679 by C.Rainaldi to preserve a miraculous image of Madonna, which was found on the wall close to Porta del Popolo and placed in a little oratory close to Tiber in 1325. The church has a central plan and two chapels on each side. The image of Madonna is on the high altar surmounted by four marble angels by A.Raggi. In presbytery are the funeral...

Via del Babuino, Rome

Via del Babuino, Rome It was laid out by Clement VII for the Jubilee of 1525, developed by Paul III after who the street bore the name Via Paola for a number of years. The present name derives from a statue of Silen, which belonged to a fountain that was placed here in 1576 by Gregory XIII. The new street together with the parallel Via Margutta quickly became a center of residences of foreigners,...

Hotel de Russie, Rome

Hotel de Russie, Rome In the beginning of the 19th century the palace was named Locanda di Russia (Inn of Russia), but in the end of the 19th century it changed its name into a French version "Hotel de Russie". It is rich with the records about celebrated peope who lived in it. Here a cousin of Napoleon and a husband of a daughter of Victor Emmanuel II, Girolamo Napoleon, died. At present it is...

Via Margutta, Rome

The street was born in the middle of the 16th century and always was a street where artists, especially Flemish and Dutch, lived. Here at No.53 Thomas Lawrence, a portrait painter, founded the British Academy of Arts in 1821. It is still a street of artists with art galleries and studios, and in spring and autumn a street fair is held with paintings for sale. Parallel to the...

Palazzo Boncompagni Cerasi, Rome

The palace was built in the 17th century with very large facade containing 13 windows surmounted by cartouches and heraldic elements. The central entrance has an ample balcony above it. The green courtyard preserves ancient statues and not big stair case is decorated with stuccoes. Also visit Boncompagni Ludovisi Museum for Decorative Arts, Costume and Fashion (Museo...

Palazzo Rondanini Sanseverino, Rome

It was built in 1744-1748 for baron Rondanini on the site of the other construction, which was created by F.Ponzio and belonged to an artist Cavalier d'Arpino. After 1760 the new palace was enlarged by G.Valvassori in direction of the church of S.Giacomo and finished by creation of double entrance door bordered by four columns and a balcony above it. The palace contained a...

Chiesa (Church) di San Giacomo in Augusta, Rome

Chiesa (Church) di San Giacomo in Augusta, Rome Originally it was a little church of a hospital, but in the end of the 16th century it was reconstructed and enlarged. The facade was begun by F.da Volterra and finished by C.Maderno in 1600. Interior of the church on elliptical plan was realized by F.da Volterra in 1592. The vault was entirely frescoed by Silverio Capparoni. The name of the church derives from the nearby...

Chiesa (Church) di Sant'Atanasio, Rome

Chiesa (Church) di Sant'Atanasio, Rome This Greek-Catholic church was erected in 1580-1583 by G.Della Porta. It has a simple facade and two twin bell-towers. It is connected by an overpass with a College of Catholic Greeks founded in 1580 by Gregory XIII. Interior is simple with lacunar ceiling and iconostasis on a High altar, which was designed by A.Busiri Vici in 1876 in substitution of the original one. The...

Via Ripetta, Rome

It was laid out in 1518 by the order of Leo X and with supervision of Raphael and A.da Sangallo. The pope wanted it to be the straight road connecting Porta del Popolo and the most populated zones of the city in direction of Vatican. The name derives from the port of Ripetta, to which the street leads, and it was its last name taken only in the 18th century, after the previous...

Church/Chiesa di San Girolamo dei Croati (degli Schiavoni), Rome

Church/Chiesa di San Girolamo dei Croati (degli Schiavoni), Rome Starting from the 15th century in Borghi district a colony of refugies from Illiric-Croatian lands was settled. They left their country running away from Turks. Their congregation obtained a Chiesetta di S.Marina in 1453 close to the port of Ripetta. The church was given a new name of St Jerome and a hospice adjoining it was built. Sixtus V was a protector of the colony and...

Church/Chiesa di S.Rocco (San Rocco all'Augusteo), Rome

Church/Chiesa di S.Rocco (San Rocco all'Augusteo), Rome The church belongs to the Confraternity of Innkeepers and Boatmen of Ripetta, which built it in 1499. It was dedicated to a French saint St Rocco, who lived in the 14th century in Rome and helped people dying from the Black Death. The building was reconstructed in 1657 by G.A.De Rossi and restored in neo-classic style by G.Valadier in 1834. The facade is dominated by four very...