Index of Places

Palazzo di Firenze, Rome

Palazzo di Firenze, Rome It was erected in the 15th century by the Cardelli, on the houses of the Vico, who starting from the 14th century were prefects of Rome. In 1533 the palace passed to the Del Monte, who transformed it, and later it became property of the Medici. Later still it was turned to a seat of the Embassy of Florence in Rome. The halls of the upper floors are decorated with the frescoes...

Church/Chiesa della Madonna del Divino Amore, Rome

Church/Chiesa della Madonna del Divino Amore, Rome According to a medieval tradition MADONNA DEL DIVINO AMORE church was built on the site of the parents' house of St Cecilia. Originally it was named Chiesa di S.Cecilia di Puzerato and Chiesa di S.Cecilia di Campomarzio. In 1575 it was renamed into Chiesa di S.Biagio dei Materassai, because it passed to the Confraternity of the corporation of mattress-makers. In 1729 the...

Orologio Solare di Augusto (The sundial of emperor Augustus), Rome

Orologio Solare di Augusto (The sundial of emperor Augustus), Rome Behind the church of S.Lorenzo in Lucina and its convent, is a zone where the Sun Clock built by Augustus must had been located. All the district of Campo Marzio was arranged by Augustus in form of gardens and in their center was this clock. In 1980 the remains of the sun clock constructed by Domitian over the one of Augustus were discovered. Nevertheless, already in the 16th...

Palazzo Fiano Almagia, Rome

Palazzo Fiano Almagia, Rome The Historical Frieze occupies the whole longest sides of the monument. It probably represents the Ara Pacis’ opening ceremony in the IX century BC. However, the presence of anachronistic personages like Agrippa, who died before the IX century, and situations, like Augustus in the Pontifex Maximums capacity (position held later), might make this frieze a sort of glorification...

Palazzo Verospi, Rome

It was built by G.Rainaldi and O.Longhi in 1611 for a Spanish Ferdinando De Verospe, who bought a house on this site in 1565. Inside is a gallery frescoed by F.Albani in 1617. Here a collection of ancient sculptures was preserved, distributed on the stairs and in the halls, but it was lost after the palace was purchased by the Torlonia in the beginning of the 19th century, and...

Church /Chiesa di San Gregorio Nazianzeno, Rome

Church /Chiesa di San Gregorio Nazianzeno, Rome The church is dedicated to the Greek saint, who's body was brought to Rome by runaway nuns from Constantinopolis. It grew on the site of the Roman construction of Republican epoch (7th century b.C.) and has only one nave with a little apse frescoed in the Middle Ages by "Christ with the Saints". The 15th century cloister is bordered by six ample arches on each side; in the...

Church /Chiesa di San Salvatore alle Coppelle, Rome

Church /Chiesa di San Salvatore alle Coppelle, Rome It was built in 1195 by pope Celestine III. In the Middle Ages it was also named Chiesa di S.Salvatore della Pieta', because the name of "Pieta' " was used a lot for the constructions in this zone in that epoch. It derived from an arch, which was located close to Piazza della Rotonda. In 1739 the church underwent a wide restoration andat the same time the facade was remade on...

Palazzo della Missione, Rome

Palazzo della Missione, Rome Palazzo della Missione was erected in 1642 by initiative of one religious French lady with the goal to give it to the Congregation founded in Paris by St Vincent of Paoli, which was also called Congregation of Lazzarists or "Signori della Missione". There was also a church Chiesa della Trinita della Missione annexed to the palace, but destroyed in 1907. During the excavations...

Palazzo Chigi, Rome

Palazzo Chigi, Rome Its construction was begun in the end of the 16th century under Clement VIII Aldobrandini, by project of G.Della Porta and S.Maderno. In 1659 it was acquired by Agostino Chigi. Construction was enlarged by architect Felice Della Greca on the territory of the houses belonging to the Chigi. The work was finished by G.B.Contini. The palace was enriched by paintings, sculptures,...

Fontana (Fountain) di Piazza Colonna, Piazza Colonna, Rome

Piazza Colonna, Rome Starting from the Middle Ages and until the 17th century the square was occupied by the old houses. In the middle of them was a Column of Marcus Aurelius, which gave the name to the square. Its present level is seven meters higher than the one of the ancient Rome. In the 18th century it was occupied by the fruit and drink vendors, that were substituted after 1870 by...

Palazzo Wedekind, Rome

Palazzo Wedekind, Rome Palazzo Wedekind is a palazzo in Piazza Colonna in Rome, Italy, located next to the church of Santi Bartolomeo ed Alessandro dei Bergamaschi. It is notable as the historic offices of the daily paper Il Tempo. In 1659 the Ludovisi built on the site of present palace a block of buildings, which in the end of the 17th century was modified by Innocent XII and assigned to the...

Church/ Chiesa di S.Bartolomeo dei Bergamaschi (Ss. Bartolomeo e Alessandro dei Bergamaschi), Rome

Church/ Chiesa di S.Bartolomeo dei Bergamaschi, Rome Built in 1562 in connection with Hospital “Dei Pazzarelli”, it was originally called after Santa Maria della Pietà. In 1725 it was given the current name and was renewed by Carlo De Dominicis. Starting from 1725 the church and annexed construction became a seat of "national" confraternity of people from Bergamo. In 1731-1735 a general reconstruction took place, the project was...

Palazzo Ferraioli (Palazzo del Bufalo Ferrajoli), Rome

Inside Palazzo Ferraioli (Palazzo del Bufalo Ferrajoli), Rome Palazzo Ferraioli (Palazzo del Bufalo Ferrajoli) is located in front of the Palazzo Chigi at Piazza Colonna. Its present look was given it in the first half of the 18th century by Francesco Paparelli, by order of Paolo Del Bufalo Cancellieri, who's family had a vast property in this zone starting from the Middle Ages. In the 19th century the palace passed to the Ferraioli,...

Church /Chiesa di Santa Maria Maddalena in Campo Marzio, Rome

Inside the Church /Chiesa di Santa Maria Maddalena in Campo Marzio, Rome St Camillo de'Lellis, a soldier, who for many years assisted the sick people in the Roman Hospital S.Giacomo degli Incurabili and founded a Congregation "Ministri degli Infermi", obtained from the Confraternity of Gonfalone in 1585 a 15th century oratory. Here he worked till his death giving medical and social assistance to those who were in need. In the middle of the 17th...

Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi, Rome

Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi, Rome In the end of the 15th century the French transferred here the center of their assistance activity. Previously it was located in the church named at present Chiesa del Sudario, not far away. The church of St Louis was founded in 1518 and finished only in 1589 by D.Fontana. Its facade with niches, statues and a central balcony is attributed to G.Della Porta. Interior has a...