Index of Places

Piazza della Minerva - Obelisco Minerveo (Obelisk Minerva), Rome

Piazza della Minerva - Obelisco Minerveo (Obelisk Minerva), Rome It took the name from the church located here S.Maria sopra Minerva. In the middle is a funny monument compound of a little marble elephant supporting 6m high Egyptian obelisk (pictured above) which belonged to the Temple of Isis, that formerly stood nearby. It was designed by G.L.Bernini and executed by E.Ferrata in 1667. The little Obelisco Minerveo (Obelisk Minerva) of red...

Collegio Romano - Astronomical & Meteorological Observatory at Palazzo del Collegio Romano, Rome

piazza del collegio romano, rome It is located in the palace adjoining the Chiesa di S.Ignazio. The meteorological center was founded in the 18th century by Jesuits and was developed starting from 1849, when Jesuit Angelo Secchi became its director. The traditional astronomic activity of Jesuits moved to Vatican after 1870 and now continues its work in Pope's Villa at Castel Gandolfo (to the south-east of...

Palazzo Serlupi Crescenzi, Rome

Palazzo Serlupi Crescenzi, Rome Palazzo Serlupi Crescenzi or Palazzo Crescenzi is considered to be a masterpiece of minor civic architecture of G.Della Porta. It was built for Ottaviano Crescenzi in 1585 in modest and imposing style with a harmonious courtyard with two leveled arches. The entrance is from Via del Seminario. Art historian W. Arslen suggests that this palace is "the most noble example of...

Palazzo Gabrielli-Borromeo, Rome

Palazzo Gabrielli-Borromeo, Rome It was built in 1560 by St Charles Borromeo as a Roman Semenary. In 1773 when the Jesuit Order was suppressed the palace passed to Collegio Romano. After 1870 the Semenary was transferred to its present seat at St John Lateran. The Palazzo Gabrielli-Borromeo is a palazzo in Rome, in via del Seminario between piazza di Sant'Ignazio and the Pantheon in the ancient Campo Marzio...

Oratorio del Caravita (San Francesco Saverio), Rome

Oratorio del Caravita (San Francesco Saverio), Rome Established within the Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola , and recently built at the same site of the ancient church of Sant'Antonio de Forbitoribus . It is commonly called the Oratorio del Caravita, named after its founder, the Jesuit Peter Garavito, who had it built in 1631. It was built in 1633 by priest Gravita, who's name was popularly transformed in "Caravita"....

Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome), Rome

Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome), Rome It was built in 1714-1724 by A.Specchi and belonged to the De Carolis, Compagnia di Gesu', the Simonetti, the Boncompagni, and in 1908 passed to the Bank of Rome. The latter adapted the palace for its needs by P.Piacentini, who transformed the courtyard in the hall for public and the stalls into the offices. The construction was enlarged on Via Lata on the site of previous...

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte, Rome

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte, Rome It was built in 1612 on the site of older church (12th century), which in the 15th century became a national church of Scots. In 1585 it was given to the monks from the monastery of Minims of St Francis of Paola at nearby Trinita' dei Monti. The marquise Paolo Del Bufalo financed the construction conducted by Gaspare Guerra in 1604-1612 (general plan and facade). After a long...

Church/ Chiesa di San Silvestro in Capite, Rome

Church/ Chiesa di San Silvestro in Capite, Rome The church was built by pope Stephen II in the 8th century on the ruins of the Temple of the Sun erected here by Aurelian in 273 A.D. The present look of the construction was created in 1594 in course of complete reconstruction by F.da Volterra and C.Maderno, and while decoration works of the 17th century, by C.Rainaldi and Domenico De Rossi. Interior has a nave with the side...

Piazza San Silvestro, Rome

The square is located on the territory of ancient Temple of the Sun built in 273 A.D. by Aurelian, the ruins of which were visible until in the 16th century. At present it is a bus terminus and quite animated by traffic place. The square itself was formed in the 30's of the 20th century as a consequence of destruction of a line of buildings, which separated it into two squares...

Church/ Chiesa di S.Claudio, Rome

Chiesa Di San Claudio, Rome It was also called Chiesa dei SS.Claudio e Andrea dei Borgognoni. Starting from the 17th century the colony from Burgundy was concentrated in this zone, what the nearby street named after Burgundy (Via Borgognona) proves. They had a chapel and a hospice, founded by Francesco Henry in 1662. The present aspect of the church was given it by the French artists in the 18th century...

Palazzo della Rinascente (La Rinascente), Rome

Palazzo della Rinascente (La Rinascente), Rome It was the first modern commercial construction introduced in Rome. The palace of fashionable market of clothes was promoted by brothers Ferdinando and Luigi Bocconi, owners of the Great Stores in Milan, who wanted to follow the example of similar initiatives already existing in other Europian capitals such as London and Paris. The Palazzo della Rinascente, formerly palazzo...

Palazzo Marignoli, Piazza San Silvestro (Old Town), Rome

Palazzo Marignoli, Piazza San Silvestro (Old Town), Rome It was one of the palaces built in Via del Corso in course of enlarging of this street after 1870 due to a increase of traffic. Palazzo Marignoli was built on the site of Chiesa di S.Lucia della Colonna, a Caffe Nazionale, and an old Augustinian Convent (a monastery of women have turned back, popularly named "of Converted"), founded by St Ignatius Loyola for women-sinners, who...

Palazzo Colonna/ Galleria di Piazza Colonna (o Alberto Sordi), Rome

Palazzo Colonna/ Galleria di Piazza Colonna (o Alberto Sordi), Rome It was built in 1914-1920 by the project of Dario Carbone on the site of Palazzo Piombino, demolished in 1889 for the needs of enlarging of Via del Corso. Palazzo Piombino was erected at Piazza Colonna in 1594 by G.Della Porta for Cosimo Giustini, who placed here the family collection of sculptures. This gallery was depicted by Pomarancio. Later the palace passed to other...

Church/ Chiesa Parrocchia Santa Maria in Via - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Church/ Chiesa Parrocchia Santa Maria in Via - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome The church was first mentioned in the documents in 995. In 1256 cardinal Pietro Capocci had it reconstructed and enlarged with the aim to include in it a well where the miraculous image of Madonna was found. The present look of the church was given it during reconstruction of 1594 under direction of G.Della Porta, M.Longhi and C.Rainaldi. Church/ Chiesa Parrocchia Santa Maria...

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome Originally it was an Oratory of S.Maria in Trivio (Trivio = three streets crossing in the square in front of it) built by Belisarius in the 6th century, so called St. Mary of the Three Crossroads. It belonged to not existing anymore. In 1571 the church was given to the Order of the Crociferi who reconstructed it in 1575 with the help of G.Della Porta e.g. the innovative...