Index of Places

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti was built in the 5th century and was decorated with the mosaics in 460 by Eastern Roman consul Flavius Ricimerus. During the domination of the Goths, the church was a center of the Arian cult in Rome. In 593 it was re-consecrated by St Gregory I Magno. It was restored and reconstructed several times until 1633, when cardinal Francesco...

Villa Aldobrandini on the Quirinal hill

Villa Aldobrandini on the Quirinal hill Villa Aldobrandini on the Quirinal hill occupies the territory of the ancient Baths of Constantine. The villa was built in 1575 with the name Orti dei Vitelli and a little building by Carlo Lombardi. Later it passed to the Camera Apostolica and in 1600 Clement VIII Aldobrandini presented it to his nephew cardinal Pietro Aldobrandini. The latter had the building restored and...

Palazzo Pignatelli & Torre Colonna Tower

Palazzo Pignatelli & Torre Colonna Tower Palazzo Pignatelli was built in the 17th century for the family of pope Innocent XII Pignatelli and transformed in 1880 due to construction of Via Nazionale. In front of the palace is a Torre Colonna, a tower which made part of a fortification system of the Colonna. It has six floors with the elements in travertine and sculptural bas-relieves from the Imperial Fora decorating...

Palazzo Colonna, Villa Colonna & Galleria (Gallery) Colonna

Main Courtyard of Palazzo Colonna (Colonna Palace) Villa Colonna is not big villa was placed on the slopes of the Quirinal Hill, on the rests of the Temple of Serapide built in 1730 by architect Nicola Michetti. Its remains were used by the Colonna for their medieval fortifications. The Palazzo Colonna & villa and its constructions were seriously reduced in the 16th-17th centuries by popes, who wouldn't like such a...

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Umiltà (Assunzione di Maria)

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Umiltà (Assunzione di Maria) Church/ Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Umiltà (previously it was Chiesa dell' Assunzione di Maria) was built by wish of Francesca dei Baglioni, who after her husband's death instituted a religious community under the Dominicans. The first construction was built in 1601, but reconstructed in 1641-1646 by P.Marucelli. The simple facade was realized in 1680 by C.Fontana with...

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi (alla Pilotta)

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi (alla Pilotta) Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi/ Santa Croce e San Bonaventura alla Pilotta was built in the 17th century by M.De Rossi for the community of the people from Lucca, on the previous Chiesa di S.Nicolo' de'Porci (SanNicola de Portiis (“de Porcis” or “in Porcibus”), which was assigned to them by Urban VIII, when the Capuchins moved to their new convent...

Universita' Gregoriana Pontificia (Pontifical Gregorian University)/ Pontificio Istituto Biblico (Biblical Institute)

It was built by Giulio Barluzzi in 1930 by the initiative of Pius XI. For its construction an old convent of the 16th century, used in the 19th century as the barracks of the pontifical troops, was destroyed. It is a seat of Pontifical Gregorian University, inheritor of Collegio Romano, which was founded by Gregory XIII. At present it is a research center in the fields of...

Palazzo Muti and Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri)

Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri), rome, italy Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri) Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri) is a Baroque palazzo in Rome. Palazzo Balestra (Balestra palace) is located at the north end of Piazza dei Santi Apostoli (no. 49). It was formerly called Palazzo Muti-Papazurri (and sometimes Palazzo dei Santi Apostoli or Palazzo Stuart). It was built in 1660 by the architect Mattia de'...

Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso/ Oratorio Musicale Romano (musical institution)

Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso/ Oratorio Musicale Romano (musical institution) Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso [Chiesa (Oratorio) of Santissimo Crocifisso)] was built by G.Della Porta in 1568 on the ancient ruins adapted for the hay-loft and on a medieval religious construction, for the Confraternity of Crucifix. The confraternity was founded to venerate the Crucifix (crocefisso) from nearby Chiesa di S.Marcello. The Brotherhood of the Crocifisso was...

Church/ Chiesa di San Marcello al Corso

Church/ Chiesa di San Marcello al Corso It stands on the site of the martyrdom of St Marcellus I, where in the 4th century was built the first church. The later construction that grew over the original one was destroyed by fire in 1519, when only the venerated Crucifix survived, which after this event became an object of cult and a Confraternity with its name was born. The church has been one of the first "tituli",...

Palazzo Mellini

It is on the left of Chiesa di S.Marcello al Corso with the entrance from Via dell'Umilta. It was built in the 18th century by Tomaso De Marchis who embellished it with nice windows which represent a summary of baroque motifs for cardinal Mario Mellini on the original palace of Venetian cardinal Michiel, nephew of Paul II. It was for a long time a residence of the cardinals...

Church/ Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli (Basilica dei Santi Apostoli)

Church/ Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli (Basilica dei Santi Apostoli) It was built in 560 by Pelagius I to commemorate the defeat and expulsion of the Goths by the Byzantine army, and dedicated to the Apostles James and Philip. After numerous restorations it was totally reconstructed under Martin V, Sixtus IV and Pius IX with the intervention of F.Fontana in 1702-1708 and C.Fontana in 1714. The facade is by G.Valadier with double loggia of nine...

Palazzo dei SS.Apostoli (Piazza dei Santissimi Apostoli)

It was built on the left of the Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli in 1478 by G.da Sangallo for cardinal Giuliano Della Rovere, future Julius II. It was realized in the forms of nearby Palazzo Venezia. There are two exceptionally elegant courtyards inside, the first of them has portico on the Ionic columns and loggias on two sides; the second one is in form of a cloister also with the...

Palazzo Odescalchi

Palazzo Odescalchi In the Middle Ages the area of the present palace was occupied by another one, Palazzo dei Benzoni, which was transformed by C.Maderno, and in 1665 completely reconstructed by G.L.Bernini for cardinal Fabio Chigi (future Alexander VII). In 1745 it passed to the Odeschalchi. The prince Baldassare Odeschalchi had it enlarged in the 18th century, with the participation of N.Salvi...

Palazzo Salviati

Palazzo Salviati Takes its name after a noble Florentine family which in 1554-64 made it built. The architect was Nanni de Baccio Bogio. Here was a residence of numerous cardinals and prelates till the end of 18th century. In the 19th century it was the seat of the Pontific government archives; later it hosted the Military Court and Military College of Rome. Now it is a seat of various...