Index of Places

Palazzo Corsini - National Gallery of Ancient Art

Anton Van Dyck at Palazzo Corsini - National Gallery of Ancient Art The palace was built in 15th century by cardinal Girolamo Riario. After it was enlarged by Julius II, the palace came in the phase of its prosperity , as here made the residences in 1668-1689, the queen Christina of Sweden, who transformed the palace in the center of Roman cultural life. The Palazzo Corsini, formerly known as Palazzo Riario, is a 15th century palace that was...

Former Tobacco Factory (Vecchia Fabbrica del Tabacco)

In the building now occupied by the barracks of the Legione Lazio dei Carabinieri, was constructed in 1744-1758 by L.Vanvitelli as a seat of the first tobacco factory in Rome. When the pope's monopoly on tobacco was suspended, Pius VI established here in 1785 the "Conservatorio Pio" for the poor girls and connected it with the other Conservatorio dell"Assunta", founded by...

Via Garibaldi [Roman Latrine (Latrina romana) & Garibaldi Mausoleum (Mausoleo Ossario Garibaldino)]

The modern via Garibaldi connects the ancient via delle Fornaci and via di S.Pietro in Montorio, which was open by Pius IX in 1867. Via Garibaldi arrives till the piazza di S.Cosimato. Roman Latrine (Latrina romana) at Via Garibaldi When part of the supporting wall of the square opposite St. Pietro in Montorio collapsed in October of 1963, the ruins of an antique Roman...

Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo)

 E.Gallori at Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (or Janiculum), Rome The square on the top of Gianicolo (or Janiculum) Hill and the avenue (passeggiata) going throughout all the Hill were realized in 1885-1887 on the territory of the ex Parco Corsini. Passeggiata del Gianicolo avenue was opened in 1880-84 on the top of the hill from Acqua Paola to S. Onofrio. In the redesign of the area Villa Lanti lost its gardens, but the casino is still...

Michelangelo House (Casa di Michelangelo)

Michelangelo House (Casa di Michelangelo) This is a reconstruction of the house named after Michelangelo in via delle Tre Pile, destroyed in 1874 in course of works over the access to Capitolium. In those times it was the property of Pellegrini, who sold it to the Commune. The house was brought to the Gianicolo (or Janiculum) in 1941. It should not be mistaken with the other one in via Macel de'Corvi, where...

Villa Aurelia - American Academy in Rome

entrance to the Villa Aurelia, rome The villa was built for the cardinal Gerolamo Farnese in 17th century (pictured above: entrance to the villa) atop the Gianicolo (or Janiculum) hill, along the Aurelian walls close to Porta San Pancrazio. The property had belonged to Pope Paolo III as part of the Farnese family vineyards. From Farnese it came into possession of Borbone of Naples, then to Giraud in 1775, in...

Villa Ruspoli Giraud

Villa Ruspoli Giraud Probably the first owners of this villa were Vaini, when it appeared on the city maps and views from the middle of the 18th century. Then it belonged to Giraud, Ruspoli and after the WWII to the Embassy of Spain. The present look was given to villa in 1925. From here open one of the fines views on Rome from the Gianicolo (or Janiculum). Nowadays the Spanish ambassador lives...

Church/ Chiesa di San Pietro in Montorio

Church/ Chiesa di San Pietro in Montorio This church was built on a site wrongly considered to be the place of St Peter's crucifixion. This 16th-century church is a beautiful example of Renaissance architecture. Mentioned in the 9th century, the church was rebuilt in 1481-1500 at the expense of King Ferdinand V of Aragon and his wife Queen Isabella I of Castile. In 1626 monks built the monastery adjoining to the...

Fountain of Ponte Sisto/ Acqua Paola (Fontana dell'Acqua Paola)

Fountain of Ponte Sisto/ Acqua Paola (Fontana dell'Acqua Paola) The fountain of the Acqua Paola (Fontana dell'Acqua Paola) was constructed for Paul V, by G.Fontana and F.Ponzio in 1612, using marble from the Nerva Forum. The water, which flows from the subterranean Aqueduct of Trajan (fed by springs near lake Bracciano, about 50 km northwest of Rome), falls into a large granite basin added by C.Fontana in 1690, beneath six columns (four of...

San Pancrazio Gate (Porta) In The Janiculum

San Pancrazio Gate (Porta) In The Janiculum This gate stands on the highest point of Janiculum Hill and takes the name from the near by basilica of S.Pancrazio. It was built by Urban VIII, and rebuilt by V.Vespignani in 1857 after the decisive battle here between the French forces and Garibaldi in 1849. This gate, once known as the Porta Aurelia was the starting-point of the Via Aurelia which is atop the Gianicolo (or...

Via Aurelia Antica

This road begins from the Porta S.Pancrazio and leads to the basilica of the same saint. The ancient road joins with the new Via Aurelia in the place called Valcannuta. The church of S.Pancrazio was erected for the pope S.Simmaco (498-514), on the cemetery site of the catacombs to honour the tomb of the young martyr Pancrazio. Next to the basilica was built the hospice for...

The Church of San Giovanni dei Fiorentini

The pope Leo X Medici concentrated his interest in the initial part of the street, where were particularly developed the residences of his fellow-countrymen Florentines. The colony, which started its existence here from the 15th century, grew in number and power in the epoch of two popes Medici. Leo X favoured to the project of construction of the national church dedicated to...

Sangallo Medici Clarelli Palace (Palazzo)

Next building after the church of S.Giovanni dei Fiorentini is a palace, which A.da Sangallo built for himself in times when Leo X gave an impulse to embellish this part of the Via Julia. Later the palace passed to Cosimo de'Medici who decorated it with the paintings glorifying his family and established here the Consulate of Tuscany; then the building was a property of...

Palazzo Sacchetti

Palazzo Sacchetti Next after Sangallo Medici Clarelli Palace (Palazzo) is Palazzo Sacchetti. There are some difficulties in attribution of this building; even thought the memorial tablet speaks about Sangallo. Probably he built the part of the palace, but the cardinal Giovanni Ricci da Montepulciano, having bought it in 1552, provided its new design and dimensions (architect Nanni di Baccio...

Palazzo dei Tribunali (Palace of Tribunals) Now Hotel St. George Roma

Via Giulia, an evocative XVIth century street great street desired by Pope Giulio II, who gave it its name. It was born from the dream of Pope Julius II and from Bramante's genius who, in 1508, begins his project for the magnificent "Palazzo dei Tribunali" an imposing courthouse that are only the remnents of a few stone seats, called the famous “sofas” of Via Giulia remains...