Index of Places

Via Giulia

It was the first and the longest streets of Rome built as a rectilinear tract. It is nearly one kilometer long, and was laid out by Bramante in the beginning of the 16th century for the order of pope Julius II, who gave it his name. Practically it had to be straighten already existed street Magistralis, so Bramate had to demolished numerous constructions on its way. The pope...

Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)

Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani) A little church of S.Aurea and annexed to it convent passed to a just established Confraternity of Neapolitans in 1574. They built the bigger church in 1619 by O.Mascherino and had it reconstructed by C.Fontana in 1700. Unfortunately its conditions caused another intervention in 1853 by architect A.Cipolla who transformed the facade as well. The church contains paintings by...

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici S.Eligio, who was a goldsmith and a bishop of Noyon in France, is venerated in two different churches of the corporations of this profession. Apart from this church there is a Chiesa di S.Eligio dei Ferrari (of smiths), in zone of "Bocca della Verita", which was the first seat of the University of smiths that in the 14th century united all people who's profession was...

Palazzo Falconieri - Hungarian Academy

The palace was built in the 16th century for the Farnese family, but in 1638 it was bought by Orazio Falconieri and transformed a lot by Borromini. Between 1646 and 1649 Orazio Falconieri commissioned Borromini to enlarge the building by adding on the right of the main facade a blind, symmetrical and similar entrance to the original one on the left, and surmounted by a falcon...

Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte

The Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte was founded and built in 1576 by the Compagna della buona morte, a confraternity born in 1535 to pick the bodies of died people that were not buried. In 1732-1737 F.Fuga, a member of Compagna, erected a new building of the church, which was heavily restored in 1867. Inside there are paintings of C.Ferri (altar piece), P...

Church of Santa Caterina of Siena at Via Giulia

This Church of Santa Catherine of Siena at Via Giulia (Chiesa di Santa Caterina da Siena a Via Giulia) grew on the site of the old "castrum senese", center of financial and commercial activity of the Sienese in Rome. Their arch-confraternity was founded in 1519 and the first oratory was erected right here and dedicated to the patron of Siena, St.Catherine. The complete...

Church of Santa Catherine of Alexandria (S. Caterina della Rota)

Church of Santa Catherine of Alexandria (S. Caterina della Rota) The primitive little church, documented since 1186, had the name of S.Maria in Catenariis, because was annexed to the hospital for the people redeemed from the Saracen prisons. With the centuries the name of the church was popularly transformed in the name of Caterina, and it was attributed to the cult of S.Caterina di Alessandria, who's symbol was a wheel (ruota or rota) on...

Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)

The Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius of Bolognese (Chiesa dei Santi Giovanni e Petronio dei Bolognesi) was erected on the site of the other ancient church Chiesa di S.Tommaso de Hispanis, existed here since 1186 and named in the 16th century "della catena" ("of the chain"), because it was a seat of a confraternity which used the chains to "discipline" themselves...

Church/ Chiesa di San Salvatore in Onda

This little Church/ Chiesa di San Salvatore in Onda is documented since 1127, but had lost its original aspect because of continuous restorations (the last one took place in 1845 and in 1877, by Luca Carimini). It conserved the three original naves of basilican plan with the columns. In the 17th century the level of the pavement was risen because it was easily reached by the...

Via Monserrato

Via Monserrato The street's name derives from the 16th century church Chiesa della Madonna di Montserrat (from famous Spanish sanctuary) which was located here. Before it was named Via di Corte Savella because of the presence of a tribunal and jails managed by the baron Savella family. But in the very beginning it bore the name of via Arenula e Regula or Recta, a generic name that had been...

Palazzo Ricci

Two facades of the palace facing the square in front of it have an extraordinary characteristics: they are covered by the paintings by P.da Caravaggio executed before 1525. The paintings, nearly not visible now, were re-depicted in th 19th century; they were dedicated to some Roman stories. The other similar paintings were in the courtyard, where are still conserved the...

Church/ Chiesa di San Giovanni in Ayno

The Church/ Chiesa di San Giovanni in Ayno was built in the 15th century and now is inhabited. It is not known yet the origin of the such a strange name "Ayno", as well as the origins of the church itself. The facade was built in 1590 by a certain Bonanni as an inscription says. It existed already in the XIIth century and it was larger than today; in the XVIth century it was...

Church Santa Maria in Monserrato (National Church of Spain in Rome)

Construction of this Roman Catholic titulus church was began in 1518 by A.da Sangallo the Younger for the Confraternity of S.Maria di Monserrato (the famous Spanish sanctuary), founded by pope Alexander VI in 1495. The church was erected on the site of two previous hospitals and was a national church of Aragonians and Catalanians, till it became the church of all the Spanish...

Church San Girolamo della Carità

According to a legend the church was founded on the place of the S.Girolamo's house in 382. Till 1536 it was a church of the congregation Minori Osservanti, but they moved to Isola Tiberina and Clement VII gave it to the noble Florentinians and their Congregation of the Charity. The history of the church was greatly influenced by S.Filippo Neri, who lived in the annexed to the...

Palazzo Fioravanti

Palazzo Fioravanti The palace was built in the 16th century by a jurisconsult Antonio Massa di Gallese, later it passed to the Fioravanti family, then to the Cadilhacs and others. The greatest part of the novel of Aldo Palazzeschi "Rome" was set in this palace. The design of the window pediments of Palazzo Farnese (alternately triangular or curved) set a pattern which was followed in Palazzo...