Index of Places

Palace of Chancellery/ Palazzo della Cancelleria - Extraterritorial Property Of The Holy See

Palace of Chancellery/ Palazzo della Cancelleria of the Holy See In the past the palace was attributed to Bramante, but for chronological stylistic motives this opinion was changed and now Palazzo della Cancelleria is attributed to A.Bregno, leaving to Bramante the merit of a perfect courtyard and a church incorporated in construction. The palace is considered to be the masterpiece of patronage of the family of pope Sixtus IV della Rovere,...

Piazza della Cancelleria (Chancellery Square) and Its Fountain (Fontana)

Cardinal Francesco Barberini, vice-chancellor of the Church in 1632-1679, had a number of houses in front of the Palazzo della Cancelleria demolished to create an appropriate square in front of a Renaissance masterpiece. Next to Piazza Campo de’ Fiori which is the junction of Via dei Baullari, Via Giubbonari, Via del Pellegrino, and Piazza della Cancelleria. Sixteenth-...

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Damaso

Basilica di San Lorenzo in Damaso, Palazzo della Cancelleria, Rome The primitive little church erected by pope St Damaso I in 380 was destroyed for the construction of Palazzo della Cancelleria. Cradinal Raffaele Riario had probably D.Bramante to reconstruct this church in present forms. G.Valadier restored it after it was used as a stall in the Napoleon's epoch. The other restoration was undertaken by V.Vespignani. The ceiling was remade by...

Via del Pellegrino

Via del Pellegrino Originally it was a tract of an ancient Roman street which in the Middle Ages was connecting the zone of Isola Tiberina and its market of S.Angelo in Pescheria, with the bridge Ponte S.Angelo. This was not the only street used by pilgrims to reach Vatican, nevertheless it was probably the center of commercial activity attracting them and making this via more visited then the...

Oratorio del Gonfalone (Oratory of the Banner)

Oratorio del Gonfalone (Oratory of the Banner) This Oratory of the Banner (Oratorio del Gonfalone) belonged to a powerful Confraternity of S.Lucia del Gonfalone and was built in the 16th century. The facade presents two orders (the first one dates back to 16th century, while the second one, baroque, is by Domenico Castelli). The first one embodies a portal with a decorated tympanum. The upper order, on the other hand,...

Criminology Museum (Museo Criminologico) - Former Juvenile Prison (Carcere Minorile)

Criminology Museum, Former Juvenile Prison (Carcere Minorile) The Museum of Criminology was founded in 1931 by the Minister of Justice Alfredo Rocco and was initially set up in the seventeenth century building of the Palazzo delle Carceri Nuove (New Prisons) in Via Giulia and moved to the adjacent former juvenile prison (Palazzo del Carcere Minorile) in Palazzo del Gonfalone in 1975. At present it is a seat of Museo Criminologico (...

Palazzo delle Carceri Nuove (Building of the New Prisons)

Palazzo delle Carceri Nuove (Building of the New Prisons) Innocent X decided to build a model prison to substitute a medieval jail Carcere di Tordinona and Corte Savella (prison of private administration) both providing extremely horrible conditions for prisoners. The functional solutions of the new prison were projected by a Philipinian priests Virginio Spada, while architecture belongs to A.Del Grande (1655). At present the palace...

Church of St. Philip Neri In Monti/ Chiesa di S.Filippino (San Filippo Neri all'Esquilino/ a Monti)

It is the only church in Rome dedicated to S.Filippo Neri and named with a diminutive "Filippino" because of reduced dimensions of the construction. Reconstruction works took place in 1728 by F.Raguzzini (facade). The church was created first as an oratory of the Confraternity of the wounds of Our Lord and as a Conservatory of spinsters, both founded by a follower of S.Filippo...

Church of Santa Lucia del Gonfalone (Chiavica di S.Lucia)

The church was also named "della chiavica" for its close position to an important sewer, which on its turn bore the name of "Chiavica di S.Lucia" taken from the church. The church was built in the end of the 13th - beginning of the 14th centuries. Devotion for the Siracusian Virgin gave birth to particular celebrations of her feast very popular in this zone. S.Lucia della...

Palazzo del Vescovo di Cervia (Palace of the Bishop of Cervia)

Palazzo del Vescovo di Cervia (Palace of the Bishop of Cervia) The palace was not finished and consists of only one angle between via dei Banchi Vecchi and via delle Carceri. The project belonged to A.da Sangallo the Younger, who began its construction for Pietro Fieschi, bishop of Cervia, governor of Rome in 1521-1523. It is not the only Renaissance building near the church: in the nearby alley named after Benvenuto Cellini, a house...

House of Puppets/ Casa dei Pupazzi (Casa Crivelli o Palazzo dei Pupazzi)

This house near Palazzo Sforza Cesarini was built by a goldsmith from Milan Gian Pietro Crivelli for himself and his family, as an inscription says, in 1537-1539. It was decorated with the finest stucco works of high quality remembering decorations of not far Palazzo Capodiferro Spada. The stuccoes are in forms of little heads, little amours, nude female bodies, and other...

Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)

Via Giulia begins in the Florentine quarter of Rome. The first two buildings of the street were of great importance for the Florentine community. The Florentine quarter retains several interesting Renaissance houses; the wide spaces between the windows were decorated with graffiti paintings. At the border of the Florentine quarter in Via dei Banchi Vecchi there was a very...

Palazzo Gaddi

The palace was also named Palazzo Nicolini and Palazzo Amici from the names of its owners. It stands in Via del Banco di S.Spirito #42 and has a beautiful Renaissance loggia. It was probably built by Sansovino in 1530 for Roberto Strozzi. In the past it was famous for hosting Michelangelo and Annibale Caro. The palace conserves in its courtyard an important collection of...

Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)

In 1504 this palace became a seat of State Mint by the order of Julius II, author of monetary reform. The facade's construction was began by cardinal Giulio de'Medici, future pope Clement VII in 1520-1523. The design belonged to A.da Sangallo the Younger. The Mint remained here till 1541, and in 1666 it became a seat of Bank St Spirit founded by Paul V in 1605 as a financial...

Via dei Banchi Nuovi

Via dei Banchi Nuovi Creating of the street was began by Sixtus IV and it became prestigious immediately, as the members of the pontifical government were building here their residences. That is why the character of the street has a certain level and a unitary style. The first house on the left was a house of C.Maderno, who constructed it on base of two previous 15th century buildings and gave it...