Index of Places

Corso Vittorio Emanuele

Corso Vittorio Emanuele This is one of the main traffic arteries of Rome built in course of adaptation of the city for the functions of a capital of Italy. It serves to connect Borghi and Vatican with Piazza Venezia and Stazione Termini. It was laid out in the 80's of the 19th century, and caused destruction of some little squares, churches and palaces. A short walk from Piazza Navona and Campo de’...

Chiesa Nuova (New Church) - Santa Maria in Vallicella

The second name of the church ("New Church") was given to distinguish it from a previous Chiesa di S.Maria in Vallicella, which was destroyed together with the other two churches. "Vallicella" refers to the subsidence of the ground in this zone. The new church was begun starting from 1575 by initiative of S.Filippo Neri with the help of pope Gregory XIII and cardinal Angelo...

Piazza della Chiesa Nuova (New Church Square)

The square in front of the Chiesa Nuova contains a Monumento al Metastasio (Pietro Trapassi), by E.Gallori, which was first erected in Piazza S.Silvestro in 1886 and transferred here because of traffic and relative closeness to the place of birth of the poet in Via dei Cappellari, near <a href="http://rometour.org/campo-dThe%20square%20in%20front%20of%20the%20%3Cstrong%3E%...

Borromini’s Oratory of Saint Phillip Neri (Oratorio dei Filippini del Borromini)/ Sala Borromini

Sala Borromini/ Borromini’s Oratory of Saint Phillip Neri The great architectural complex created by Borromini on the side of Chiesa Nuova includes Oratory and a convent with the library. The Borromini’s Oratory of Saint Phillip Neri (Oratorio dei Filippini del Borromini) is a building located in Rome and erected between 1637 and 1650 by Francesco Borromini. He belonged to the Congregation of the Oratory, founded by Philip Neri in...

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace) was probably erected for cardinal Fieschi in 1505 and by mistake was attributed to Bramante. The palace passed the the Boncompagni, dukes of Sora, in the epoch of pope Gregory XIII, who belonged to this family. In 1831 it was adapted to the infantry barracks, and after 1870, it was partly demolished to lay out Corso Vittorio Emanuele. The...

Piazza di Sant'Andrea della Valle & Its Fountain

The Sant'Andrea della Valle square was built in 1938 during the works over Corso del Rinascimento. The site of the old Piazza di S.Andrea remained under the tract of Corso Vittorio. The fountain in the middle of the new Piazza came here in 1957 from a disappeared square in Borghi zone and is attributed to C.Maderno. Famous Church/ Chiesa di S.Andrea della Valle is located...

Church of Sant'Andrea della Valle

Before the church S.Andrea della Valle its place was occupied by a little Chiesetta di S.Sebastiano, which probably was built in memory of a fact that a body of this saint-martyr was found in sewer of this zone. In 1582 the Palazzo Piccolomini located close to the Chiesetta S.Sebastiano was given to the Congregation of Teatinians with the charge to build on its site a church...

Palazzo Della Valle

Palazzo Della Valle The present palace grew on the site of the medieval houses of the Valle family, which took its name from the name of this zone. Lorenzetto erected this palace for the cardinal Andrea Della Valle. The major boast of the palace is its courtyard compound of harmonious arches based on Doric columns. Cardinal Della Valle had a large collection of ancient statues and reliefs which...

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne The most ancient in Rome Massimo family was first historically documented in 999, but its splendor took place in the 15th century with Petrus de Maximis. Centuries ago the Massimo became owners of three palaces one adjoining to another. The facade is renown as one of the most masterful of its time, combining both elegance with stern rustication. The entrance is characterized...

Church of San Pantaleo (Chiesa di S.Pantaleo)

This little church of remote origin named "S.Pantaleo de Parione", was first documented in the 12th century. It was given its present forms by Paul V, who gave it in 1614 in custody of S.Giuseppe Calasanzio, founder of Scolopi and movement for the education of simple children. San Pantaleone or Pantaleo was a medical doctor and a martyr in the beginning of the 4th century,...

Teatro Valle (Valley Theater) - Former Opera House

Teatro Valle (Valley Theater) - Former Opera House Together with Teatro Argentina it is one of two 18th century theatres survived till our days and keeping on to perform with success. It was built by marquis Camillo Capranica inside of his own Palazzo alla Valle in 1725, when it was left by French Academy, which stayed here for 40 years. The construction was made of wood by architect Tommaso Morelli and unveiled in 1727. The...

Palazzo della Sapienza - State Archive of Rome

Palazzo della Sapienza - State Archive of Rome The first palace on this site was built in 1244, but the palace in its modern forms was begun in epoch of Julius II and Leo X in the beginning of the 16th century, with participation of Michelangelo in course of project creation. The definite remodeling is work of G.Della Porta (1575). In particular, he executed the facade and a courtyard. After some time Sixtus V had the...

Church of Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza

Church of Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza The University Sapienza initially used the church of S.Eustachio for the religious ceremonies and Diploma conferment. But Leo X had a chapel serving for these needs built on the territory of the University. A century later Urban VIII decided to make of give this chapel the importance appropriate to its functions, expressed in architecture and dimensions. F.Borromini began the...

Palazzo Madama - Senate of the Republic of Italy

The palace was built for the Medici in the beginning of the 16th century, but it took the name of Madama Margherita di Parma (d'Austria), a daughter of Charles V and a wife of Alessandro dei Medici (from who she obtained the palace) and afterwords of Ottavio Farnese. She lived here in 1541-1550. Among the famous personalities who had Palazzo Madama as their residence were...

Corso del Rinascimento

This ample street was laid out on the site of two rows of houses demolished specially for it, and was open to traffic in 1938. The buildings reconstructed on both sides of the street, under direction of Arnaldo Foschini, and the facade of the Convent and Chiesa di S.Giacomo degli Spagnoli represent a modern character of architecture that intended to reproduce the look of past...