Index of Places

Via dei Cerchi Street

This street was arranged by Sixtus V on the site of previous little road, which was passing through the steps of the Circus Maximus, from which the name of Via dei Cerchi derives (cerchi = circles). On this street many centuries ago was a church Oratorio di S.Maria dei Cerchi, as well as some other religious and functional constructions. At present this street is open to...

Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione

The Arch-confraternity of S.Maria in Portico della Consolazione e delle Grazie managing the Ospedale della Consolazione, the hospital built in 1470 adjoining the church with the same name, was founded in 1506. It had as a property a piece of territory of the Roman Forum, from which it had a right to derive marbles and other building materials for its hospital and other needs...

Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari

The Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari (Chiesa di San Eligio dei Ferrari) was built in 1562 over the site of the medieval Chiesetta di S.Giacomo d'Altopasso, by the Arch-confraternity of S.Eligio. In 1453 Nicolas V rearranged the Organization of Iron Smiths (Universita dei Ferrari) and gave it this church with the intention to build a hospice adjoining to it. Starting from...

Sacred Area and Church of Sant'Omobono

The Church of Sant'Omobono was built over pre-existent San Salvatore in Portico. The church is located in the zone of very ancient sacred area previously occupied by temples dating from the Republican epoch (9th-8th centuries b.C.); and the traces of human life dating from 1500 b.C.. It was reconstructed by Corporation of Tailors in 1574 on the site of ancient church of...

Church of San Giovanni Decollato

The Church of San Giovanni Decollato (Chiesa di S.Giovanni Decollato) construction was begun over the site of the Chiesa di S.Maria della Fossa (1190) in 1488 by the Arch-confraternity of S.Giovanni Decollato, named of Misericordia, and finished in 1504. The Arch-confraternity was composed of Florentines, who's goal was to assist the people condemned to death, numerous in that...

Arch of Janus (Arco di Giano)

It was probably a honorary arch dedicated to emperor Constantine and built in the 4th century using the fragments from the other constructions. In the Middle Ages it was turned into a base of the fortified fortress by the Frangipani family. But in 1830 it was returned its original look, with the exception of the attic, which was destroyed by mistake, taken for a part of the...

Arch of Moneylenders/ Arco degli Argentari/ Arcus Argentariorum

Arcus Argentariorum is a little arch erected by bankers exchange agents (argentari) and cattle-dealers of the Foro Boario (the cattle market located in this zone) in honour of Settimius Severus, his wife Julia Domna and their sons Geta and Caracalla in 204. It is characterized by excessively elaborated decorations showing the degrade of the artisan art. The names of Geta,...

Church of San Giorgio in Velabro

The name of the church reminds about the regularly damaged ground of this zone by the waters of Tiber (velabro = marsh). The church was built before the 4th century and reminds the settlement of the Greek colony in this part of the city, which prove all the Greek names of the churches around. S.Giorgio was a Greek martyr as well. This small Church of San Giorgio in Velabro (...

Temple of Portunus or Fortune (Tempio di Portuno/ Fortuna Virilis)

Temple of Portunus or Fortune (Tempio di Portuno/ Fortuna Virilis) This temple was also ironically named "of Fortuna Virilis". Portunus is a divinity of a river port which once was located in this zone. The temple was erected in the 6th century b.C., but its present look dates from the 2nd century b.C.. It is a fine example of Greek-Roman architecture. It represents one of the best kept building of Ancient Rome. The Tempio di Portuno (Temple...

Temple of Ercole Vincitore or Vesta (Hercules the Winner)

This is the most ancient marble temple in Rome; it has circular plan surrounded by 20 Corinthian columns. The temple was built in the end of the 2nd century b.C. It was used as a church with the name S.Stefano delle Carrozze, and later, S.Maria del Sole. The Temple of Hercules Victor (Hercules the Winner or Hercules the Conqueror) (Italian: Tempio di Ercole Vincitore) or...

Basilica/ Church of Santa Maria in Cosmedin

This is a beautiful church worldly famous for a round stone mask called "Bocca della Verita' " (Mouth of Truth) (pictured below) located in its portico, but there are so many other things about it that could attract interest. First of all, its bell-tower, the most beautiful Romanesque bell-tower in Rome. It has seven storeyes and colored majolica decorations. It was built in...

Palazzo Diaconale

This palace stands on Via della Greca at the side of Chiesa di S.Maria in Cosmedin. Pope St Nicolas I, who conducted restoration and decoration works of the church, built by its side well fortified pontifical palace. It was fortified with an external wall for fear of raids by the Saracens; later on it was converted into a small monastery and some of the rooms were assigned to...

Palazzo Pantanella at Piazza Bocca della Verità

Palazzo Pantanella It was built in 1878-1881 as a seat of the Societa' dei Molini e Pastificio Pantanella (Society of Mills and Bread-making Pantanella). It was an appropriate site for an organization like this one because of close position to the water mills placed on Tiber and industrial zone of Circus Maximus. The Mitreo of Circus Maximus was discovered in the underground of this former pasta...

Piazza Bocca della Verità and Its Fountain

Piazza Bocca della Verità is one of the most characteristic places in Rome corresponding to the Foro Boario, one of the most beautiful buildings of Republican Rome. Here is the temple of Fortuna Virile, an example of Greek-Italian architecture, built around 100 BC; and the Temple of Vesta (so called because is similar to the temple of Vesta in the Roman Forum) built in the...

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

It is thought that the Circus, located in the Valle Murcia, between the Palatine and the Aventine Hills, existed already before the 4th century b.C. and was used for the horse races and horse competitions first by Tarquinius Priscus in 600 b.C.; and that the famous rape of the Sabines took place right here. It was the greatest construction for the entertainment every built,...