Index of Places

Colle Oppio Park or Oppian Hill Park (Parco del Colle Oppio) next to the Colosseum

The Colle Oppio Park/ Oppian Hill Park (Parco del Colle Oppio) next to the Colosseum with the remnants of the "Domus Aurea" (Nero's villa) was created here in 1938 by the project of Raffaele De Vico with the goal to make an appropriate environment for the imposing ruins of the Baths of Trajan. In the Colle Oppio park near the Colosseum there are some ruins of the Terme di...

Via Merulana Street

It was open by Gregory XIII for the Holy Year 1575 and was originally named Via Gregoriana. The present name has a popular origin referring to the Merula family which had some territory possessions in this zone, or to the embattled (merlati) buildings once located here. Sixtus V used this street for his project of connection of the Roman Basilicas. Via Merulana is Situated...

Via Labicana Street

Via Labicana Street The name of this street derives from an ancient Via Labicana, a part of which tract corresponds to the modern Via Labicana. The old road connected Porta Maggiore and Labico (now Montecompatri). On the side of the street corresponding to the Baths of Titus was found Mausoleum of the Ateri, where Quintius Aterius, a great architect of ancient epoch, who projected Colosseum and...

Piazza (Square) San Giovanni in Laterano and Its Fountain

Previously the Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano (Via di S.Giovanni in Laterano) street was named " Strada maggiore o sacra o papalis" because it was used for processions of the popes in direction of Vatican. It was rearranged by Sixtus V in the 16th century and before the 20th century it was bordered only by the building adjoining to the Hospital of S.Giovanni, churches and...

Church/ Basilica of San Clemente (Saint Clement) in Laterano

Church/ Basilica of San Clemente (Saint Clement) in Laterano The original Church/ Basilica of Saint Clement in Laterano (Chiesa/ Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano) built in 385 was discovered in the end of the 19th century by a priest Mulloly from an Irish religious organization to which the present church is assigned. It was on basilican plan and was much larger and had a narthex in front of it. The primitive church was erected over...

Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery

Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery The name of the Basilica/ Church and Monastery of Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati (Chiesa dei SS.Quattro Coronati/ Basilica dei Santi Quattro Coronati al laterano) refers to some stories about four martyrs that could be or a group of sculptors from the Roman province of Pannonia near the Danube martyred by Diocletian because of refuse to sculpture pagan divinity of Aesculapius,...

Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain

The Celio (Caelius) Military Hospital near the Coloseum occupies the territory of destroyed in 1888 Villa Casali. Centuries ago on this zone was a military establishment and an important medieval hospital S.Stefano in Formis. The modern hospital is compound of pavilions and was built according to a project of Salvatore Bianchi in 1885-1891. The Caelian hill, originally known...

Temple of Claudius (Tempio di Claudio)

The 4th wife of Claudius, Agrippina, decided to erect a temple in the honor of her husband died in 54 and deified. Her son emperor Nero interrupted the works and built on its site a nympheum from where the water supplied by aqueduct of Claudius-Nero was flowing into the lake of Nero's Domus Aurea (where Colosseum stand now). It was raised on the west side of the Celio but at...

Antiquarium Comunale del Celio (Antiquarian House of Celio)

It was built in 1890 by architect F.Azzurri and arranged by professor Rodolfo Lanciani. The necessity to create an antiquarium was caused by endless quantity of archeological material discovered in all parts of the city during the excavations begun by the Italian state. In 1929 it was reconstructed by Antonio Munoz, but seriously damaged in course of construction of the Roman...

Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo

The Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo (Chiesa/ Basilica dei SS.Giovanni e Paolo) on the Celian Hill grew over some ancient Roman constructions disposed on several levels with 20 different rooms belonging to a pagan building, a Christian house and an oratory. The Christian house belonged to John and Paul, two court dignitaries under Constantine II, who were...

Roman Houses and Antiquarium of Celio (Case Romane del Celio)

The Basilica of SS. Giovanni e Paolo stands over a complex comprising several Roman houses of different periods. According to tradition, this was the dwelling of John and Paul, both of whom, having suffered martyrdom by execution were buried on the site of their own house (362 AD). During the third century AD, these different properties were combined under a single owner and...

Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio)

The Church of San Gregorio Magno al Celio/Santi Andrea e Gregorio al Celio/ San Gregorio Magno al Celio or simply San Gregorio on the Caelian Hill was erected on the site of the house of pope St Gregory the Great. From original church remained the Cosmatesque pavement and 16 ancient columns. It was completely reconstructed from outside and inside in 1629-1633 by the wish of...

Villa Celimontana (Previously Villa Mattei): Park, Garden, Festival, Geographic Society

Previously it was Villa dei Mattei, dukes of Giove, acquired in 1553 by Giacomo and arranged by Ciriaco Mattei. The latter created gardens and picked a collection of ancient marbles; had G.Del Duca build a house in 1581-1586 and finally obtained from the Senators of Rome a 12m high Egyptian obelisk as a present. The obelisk stood beside the Convent of Aracoeli on the...

Arch of Dolabella and Silanus & Church of San Tommaso in Formis

Arch of Dolabella and Silanus (Arco di Dolabella e Silano) Originally Arch of Dolabella and Silanus (Arco di Dolabella e Silano) was one of the city entrances built in the walls protecting the city in Republican epoch and restored by Augustus. Dolabella and Silanus (10 A.D.) were the magistrates responsible for reconstruction of this gate which might bore the name Porta...

Church of Santa Maria in Domnica & Navicella (small ship) Fountain

The Church of Santa Maria in Domnica (also known as Santa Maria alla Navicella) grew from an oratory of ancient diacony, i.e. center of religious and public assistance, which was built over another public construction that might had been the military barracks. The church was mentioned for the first time in the end of the 8th century. Only two important restoration and...