Index of Places
It serves the metro, but also has two auto lines and relative sidewalks. It was built in 1971-72 by architect L.Moretti in reinforced cement with three spans. Ponte Nenni is 122m long and 25m wide.
At Lungotevere Arnaldo da Brescia, on the left side of the Tiber, is a monument to Giacomo Matteotti, deputy-socialist, who was raped here, and murdered in 1924. Stele Matteotti,...
This neighborhood derives its name from the ancient Roman Road Via Trionfale. The first low and middle quality class residences were built here in 1908 by Istituto per le Case Popolari, Istituto Romano dei Beni Stabili and other similar organizations.
Via Trionfale, 136
00136 Rome, Lazio, Italy
Shown By Map A Zone As "5"
It is the ancient Clivus Cinnoe and the medieval Monte Malo. Its present name is taken from the Villa Mario Mellini built on the summit. It is the highest hill of Rome (139m).
In 1925 the military settlement, which existed here since 1878, was suppressed and the slopes and the summit of the Monte Mario begun to be occupied by civic constructions and residence zones.
The Palace of the Italian State-owned radio and television network (Radiotelevisione Italiana, RAI) was erected in 1965 by Berarducci-Fioroni, and has a beautiful statue of a horse by F.Messina in front of it.
RAI – Radiotelevisione Italiana, known until 1954 as Radio Audizioni Italiane, is the Italian state owned public service broadcaster controlled by the Italian Ministry...
It is located at the feet of Monte Mario, and is an example of similar constructions, that must have been numerous in the past. They served the pilgrims ill with simple diseases and mortal infections like leprosy. The church grew in the 11th century under the name of S.Maria Maddalena; in 1187 it was reconstructed by a French pilgrim, who established adjoining to it hospital-...
It is incorporated into a monastery construction, has a nice dome and a simple facade with the asymmetrical bell-tower. The church was begun in the middle of the 17th century on the money left as a will by Gian Vittorio de Rossi, who had his house beside it. The project was by Camillo Asprucci, and the building continued until 1700. The steps of the church were created in 1838...
The Astronomical and Meteorological Observatory of the Roman University [The Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica (National Institute for Astrophysics), or INAF] is located on the summit of the Monte Mario. It moved here in 1935 from the tower on the Capitoline Hill, and occupies the ex Villa Mellini, which was completely reconstructed for its new owner. The villa was built in...
It is located on the slope of the Monte Mario facing the zone of Foro Italico. Its construction was begun by cardinal Giulio de' Medici, future pope Clement VII, according to a project of Raphael in 1516-17. It was altered by A.da Sangallo the Y., but remained unfinished. From the Medici it passed to Madama Margaret of Austria/Margherita di Parma (d'Austria), who used it as...
The Cimitero Militare Francese (French Military Cemetery) is located on the extreme end of the Monte Mario, and contains the graves of 1500 French who died in the WWII.
Cimitero Militare Francese (French Military Cemetery)
Via dei Casali di Santo Spirito, 70, 00135 Roma, Italy
Quartiere Della Vittoria (Roma centro)
Shown By Map A Zone As "13"
Train: Stazione di...
It was the first bridge connecting the old Rome with the new district of Prati. It was built in 1886-1891. It is made of bricks covered with panels of botticino and travertine. The bridge has three spans and in 111m long and 20m wide.
Ponte Regina Margherita,
00186, 00192, 00196, Via Bari 3 Rome, Lazio, Italy
Shown By Map A Zone As "14"
The Palace of the Marine Ministry was erected in 1928 by architect Giulio Magni. It has an ample square in front of it facing Via Flaminia. On either side of the entrance from the Lungotevere are two colossal anchors from Austro-Hungarian ships participated in the WWI.
Ministero della Marina
Ministeri - Ministero Marina
00196, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Originally it was a simple construction built in the 16th century, as one of the houses of the Villa Giulia. It was reconstructed by G.Valadier, and later by L.Canina in 1825-1844.
At present it is a seat of Roman Philharmonic Academy.
The Philharmonic in Rome is one of the best places in the capital city of Italy, where you can listen to live classical music concerts. The...
It is one of the consul's ways, as it was opened by Caius Flaminius, and lead to Rimini. It had been taken the beginning from Porta Ratumena, close to the Tomb of Bibulus, at present Piazza Venezia. With the construction of Aurelian Walls, a part of Via Flaminia remained inside of the city and was named Via Lata (present Via del Corso). Thus, the new beginning of Via Flaminia...
It was built by Sansovino for cardinal Antonio del Monte in the first half of the 16th century, and made part of the Villa Giulia. In 1561, during the pontificate of Pius IV, it passed to his nephews Borromeo, and was transformed and enlarged by P.Ligorio (who also designed the Casina di Pio IV in Vatican) with the new name: Palace of Pius IV. From 1567 it belonged to the...
This little circular church is a thank-offering by Julius III for his successful escape from Landsknechts, during the sack of Rome in 1527. Being a cardinal he was imprisoned in Palazzo della Cancelleria; here he offered a dinner to the guardians with the very strong wine, so that they fall asleep, and he could run away.
The church was erected by Vignola in 1554.