Via Labicana Street

"Via Labicana Street" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 4th July 2011

Via Labicana Street

The name of this street derives from an ancient Via Labicana, a part of which tract corresponds to the modern Via Labicana. The old road connected Porta Maggiore and Labico (now Montecompatri). On the side of the street corresponding to the Baths of Titus was found Mausoleum of the Ateri, where Quintius Aterius, a great architect of ancient epoch, who projected Colosseum and Arch of Titus, was buried.

The arch of Gallienus was the old Porta Esquilina in the Servian Wall. Here started the intra moenia portion of via Labicana. Via Labicana entered Rome through the Aurelian wall via the ancient monumental gate of Porta Prenestina, and reached, after an internal part, the Servian Wall, entering through the Porta Esquilina, decorated with the arch of Gallienus. The section of the road near Rome is now known as the Via Casilina. A statue of Augustus as pontifex maximus found at a villa of Livia on this road is known as the "Via Labicana type" and is housed at the National Roman Museum.

The Ludus Magnus was built in the valley between the Esquilino and the Celio. The remains of the complex were discovered in 1937, but only 20 years later excavations were terminated. The building can be seen from via Labicana and via di S.Giovanni in Laterano. Mausoleum of Helena (Mausoleo di Elena) is located in the region once called “ad duas lauros”, crossed by the via Labicana (today via Casilina). The church of San Clemente in Laterano; one of the most interesting and antique basilicas in Rome is located here.

Address:
Via Labicana Street
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo - S.Giovanni - S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Via Labicana Street is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "68"

As you visit 'Via Labicana Street' you may also like following articles . . .

Maggiore or Prenestina Gate (Porta Maggiore/ Prenestina)

The site on which this gate stands is the highest point of the Esquiline Hill, this could explain why eight of eleven aqueducts bringing water to Rome were

Porta (Gate) San Giovanni

Pope Gregory XIII had this new city gate built in 1574 and named it after the close basilica of S.Giovanni in Laterano (St John Lateran). This gate was one of

Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall

The original gate of the Aurelian Wall was enlarged by Honorius, who built on its sides two cylindrical towers and put over it a travertine construction and

Porta (Gate) Ardeatina and Via Ardeatina Road

Ardeatina Gate (Porta Ardeatina) was opened in 1939 as the beginning of the Via Cristoforo Colombo, which leads to the sea and in that epoch was named "

Gate/ Porta San Sebastiano (Ancient Appia Gate) & Museum of Walls (Museo Mura)

The ancient gate Porta Appia, better known as Porta San Sebastiano successively took the name of the nearby basilica of S.Sebastiano. It is the largest and