Lanfranco, Giovanni (1582-1647)

"Lanfranco, Giovanni (1582-1647)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 27th April 2011

Giovanni Lanfranco, Italian painter, was born in Terenzo, Parma in 1582 and died in Rome in 1647. He was a pupil and collaborator of Agostino Caracci in the Palazzo del Giardino in Parma; later he passed to Annibale Carracci in Rome and participated in decoration of the room of Heremits in Palazzo Farnese in 1604. In 1608 and 1610 Lanfranco collaborated with Guido Reni over frescoes in San Gregorio al Celio and Cappella Borghese in S.Maria Maggiore. In 1610-1612 he lived in Parma where executed Annunciazione (San Carlo ai Catinari). Frescoes of the dome in Sant'Andrea della Valle in Rome were created in 1621-1627. The artist left numerous works in Naples where he was working in 1634-1646: chiesa del Gesu'; Certosa di San Martino; Cappella di San Gennaro in Duomo; various paintings.

As you visit 'Lanfranco, Giovanni (1582-1647)' you may also like following articles . . .

Carracci, Agostino (1557-1602)

Agostino Carracci, Italian painter and engraver, was born in Bologna in 1557 and died in Parma in 1602. He was the elder brother of Annibale and cousin of

Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari)

Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari) was built by cardinal G.B.Leni for the Barnabits in 1612-1620, in honor of St Charles Borromeo

Reni, Guido (1575-1642)

Guido Reni, Italian painter, was born and died in Bologna in 1575-1642. He studied ancient art and Raphael in the academy of Carracci. His first trip to Rome

Carracci, Annibale (1560-1609)

Annibale Carracci, Italian painter, was born in Bologna in 1560 and died in Rome in 1609. He was a brother of Agostino and a cousin of Ludovico Carracci, and

Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio)

The Church of San Gregorio Magno al Celio/Santi Andrea e Gregorio al Celio/ San Gregorio Magno al Celio or simply San Gregorio on the Caelian Hill was erected