Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall

"Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall " submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 15th July 2011

The original gate of the Aurelian Wall was enlarged by Honorius, who built on its sides two cylindrical towers and put over it a travertine construction and gives its name to the church of San Giovanni a Porta Latina. From outside the gate has a monogram of Christ and from inside a Greek cross. The name derives from the Via Latina which takes its beginning from here.

Latina Gate (Porta Latina) at Via Di Porta Latina
Also nearby are the oratory of octagonal Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo (Tempietto di S.Giovanni in Oleo), whose current structures date back to 1509 and the pagan Columbarium of Pomponius Hylas.
Latina Gate Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall
It has a single arch of irregular blocks of travertine, with a row of five windows above on the outside, and a sixth in brick, at the south end, surmounted by stone battlements, and flanked by two semi-circular towers of brick-faced concrete (almost entirely rebuilt), which do not rise above the top of the central section. The north tower rests on a foundation of masonry which hay have belonged to a tomb.

Address:
Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall
Via Di Porta Latina
00179, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)
Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "94"

As you visit 'Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall ' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina)

The Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (Chiesa/ Basilica di San Giovanni a Porta Latina) was erected in the 5th century, and reconstructed in 722 and

Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo

At Porta Latina, within the enclosure of the Aurelian Walls, stands the octagonal Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo (Tempietto di S.Giovanni in Oleo),

Colombarium of Pomponius Hylas Within The Park On Via Latina

This monument, discovered in 1831 by the erudite antiquarian and collector of artifacts, stands a short distance from the Aurelian Walls, in the public gardens

Porta (Gate) Metronia

This gate was closed in the 12th century, as it didn't have any importance even at the time of its construction in the walls of Aurelian. Because of the

Porta Pinciana (Pincian Gate), Rome

Porta Pinciana is a gate of the Aurelian Walls in Rome. The name derives from the gens Pincia, who owned the epponymous hill (Pincian Hill). In ancient times