MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda - Former Mattatoio (Slaughterhouse): Museum and Cultural Centre

"MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda - Former Mattatoio (Slaughterhouse): Museum and Cultural Centre" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

Mattatoio was a great complex construction created in 1890 as a huge slaughter-house or abattoir . It is abandoned now, and the plans of its re-utilization take in consideration some sportive constructions on this territory or creation of new museums and centers of commune's life. Rome’s ex-Mattatoio (slaughter-house or abattoir) complex is now an active site for cultural happenings and artistic events. Situated on the edge of the Tiber River in the recently gentrified and decidedly hip Testaccio neighbourhood, the MACRO Testaccio is an ideal site for a community of cultural experimentation.

Former Mattatoio (Slaughterhouse) , now MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda
Built between 1888 and 1891 by Gioacchino Ersoch, architect emeritus of the City of Rome, the pavilions of the Mattatoio illustrate the transition from classicism to modernity and provide an important historical example of the monumentality and rationale of turn-of-the-century industrial architecture. For many years, Rome’s Mattatoio was considered among the most advanced industrial designs for the modernity of ingenuity of its organization and architectural tenacity.

In 2003, two pavilions from within the Mattatoio complex, comprised of 105,000 square metres (43,000 of which are covered), were assigned to MACRO for use in the development and dissemination of Contemporary Art. The creation of MACRO Future (today MACRO Testaccio), since when art exhibitions have been a regular feature in one of the buildings, whilst the second building has only been fully functioning since 2007. In line with the dynamic character of the neighbourhood and the massive presence of youngsters during the evenings and in keeping with the bistros, clubs, and nightspots that surround it, MACRO’s space at the Mattatoio is open from 4pm until midnight.
Entrance to Macro Future.jpg The two MACRO Future buildings.jpg
The scope and layout of the space make it particularly conducive to grand multimedia explorations. In this context local, national, and international artists from the visual and other arts interact and generate a reconfiguration of the Arts through the fusion of different modes of creative expression. Arousing a vast and diverse public, MACRO is a dynamic and progressive institution emerging as a multifaceted cultural polestar within which the value of contemporary artistic expression asserts itself.

La Pelanda - a centre of cultural production is located in Piazza Orazio Giustiniani 4, was conceived ten years ago from an idea of Zoneattive and its management was entrusted to the Historical City Agency’s Urban Planning Department directed by eng. Paolo Capozzi. The management of La Pelanda is handled by the Macro Museum, and with the opening of the new wing in Via Nizza –designed by Odile Decq–, will become part of the New Macro complex consisting of the existing Museum of Contemporary Art in Via Reggio Emilia and the two pavilions of the Macro Testaccio. The complex is dedicated to contemporary art enriched by the presence of the Academy of Fine Arts and the Faculty of Architecture of Rome. The Pelanda project represents the most significant restoration of the industrial architecture complex of the Mattatoio in Testaccio, for a total funding of over € 13 million.

The New MACRO joins the spaces of the MACRO Testaccio and the Pelanda, inside the former slaughterhouse in Testaccio, to make this multifaceted cultural centre a Roman institution that aims to promote the value of contemporary Italian and international art. The combination of modern and original structures has led to the Slaughterhouse being considered as one of Rome’s most important industrial buildings, as well one of the more interesting examples of “industrial archaeology” to have survived.

MACRO’s permanent collection offers a selection of some of the most significant expressions characterizing the Italian art scene since the 1960s. Works by Italian artists of international repute illustrate how Italian nationals have figured along-side key protagonists of the international art world during recent years.

Address:
MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda - Former Mattatoio (Slaughterhouse): Museum and Cultural Centre
Piazza Orazio Giustiniani 4
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Testaccio (Roma centro)
MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda - Former Mattatoio (Slaughterhouse): Museum and Cultural Centre is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "50"
Hours: Tuesday-Sunday: 4.00 pm - 12.00 am; Last admission 1/2 hour before closing time. Open only for exhibitions. Closed: Monday, December 24, 25 and 31, January 1, May 1.

Getting MACRO Testaccio Complex and La Pelanda:

Entrance: Adults: € 11,00 - Concessions: € 9,00. Roman Citizens only (by showing a vaild ID): Adults: € 10,00 - Concessions: € 8,00.
Roma Pass: The Museums of the Municipality are covered by the Roma Pass, the first cultural tourism card in the capital, which offers price benefits and services that make visiting the city easier. For only 25 euros, the possessor of a Roma Pass gets, for 3 days (from the first use of the card), free entrance to the first two sites and/or museums they visit, and reduced prices at all successive sites and /or museums, and has the right to discounts on exhibitions and events and can make use of free services and collateral benefits (reserved entrance areas, etc.). For further information: http://www.romapass.it/
Buy Ticket Online: http://www.ticketclic.it/database/b2c/order.cfm?sitedefid=805&ln=39
MACRO Testaccio Telephone: 0039 060608 dalle 9.00 alle 21.00
La Pelanda Tel: +39 060608 from 9.00 am to 9.00 pm
MACRO Testaccio Fax: 0039 06 8554090
Email: mac...@comune.roma.it
MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda Website: http://en.macro.roma.museum/

As you visit 'MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda - Former Mattatoio (Slaughterhouse): Museum and Cultural Centre' you may also like following articles . . .

Rione Testaccio - Via Marmorata: Discover Testaccio, Walk on Monte Testaccio (Testaccio Hill)

Via Marmorata The name of the street "Marmorata" confirms the existence of a huge deposit of marbles (marmo (it.) = marble) on the coast of the river in times

Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio)

This bridge was unveiled in 1948 and served mostly for the connection of the other side of the river with the Mattatoio (Slaughter-house constructions) and

Testaccio Stadium (Vecchio Campo Testaccio)

Testaccio Stadium (Campo Testaccio) was a multi-use stadium in Rome, Italy. It was initially used as the stadium of A.S. Roma matches. It was replaced by

Museo di Roma (Museum of Rome) at Palazzo Braschi

The museum was founded in 1930 to illustrate the history and life of Rome from the Middle Ages to the present day. It was first located in the building of ex-

Pyramid of Cestius or Piramide Cestia (Piramide di Caio Cestio)

It is of the best conserved and most characteristic monuments of ancient Rome. This pyramid was built in 12 a.D. during a period of 300 days, and it is 27m