Maratta, Carlo (1625-1713)

"Maratta, Carlo (1625-1713)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Carlo Maratta, Italian painter, was born in Camerano in 1625 and died in Rome in 1713. He was a pupil of A.Sacchi who directed him to the studies of painting of Raphael and Correggio, A.Carracci and G.Lanfranco. He had as a protector G.B.Bellori, a theoretician of art and a friend of N.Poussin, who supplied the artist with the first work orders: frescoes in Sant'Isidoro (Rome, 1652). The success of Sant'Agostino (S.Maria dei Sette Dolori, 1655) brought him the favour of the pope Alexander VII who ordered him paintings for Rome: Visitazione (S.Maria della Pace, 1656); and for Siena: Visitazione e Fuga in Egitto (Cathedral). His later works included big paintings on the religious subjects: Immacolata Concezione (1665-1671) (Siena, Sant'Agostino); Morte di San Francesco Saverio (1674-1679) (Rome, Chiesa del Gesu'); Madonna in gloria (1689) (Rome, S.Maria del Popolo); some portraits: Clement IX (1669, Rome, Pin.Vaticana), and vast cycles of frescoes: Palazzo Altieri (Rome); Villa Falconieri (Frascati).

As you visit 'Maratta, Carlo (1625-1713)' you may also like following articles . . .

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria del Popolo, Rome

The church grew out of a chapel built here by Pascal II in 1099 over the tombs of the Domitia family, which were believed to be the haunt of demons, because

Church/Chiesa dei SS.Ambrogio e Carlo (San Carlo al Corso), Rome

Popularly the church is named Chiesa di S.Carlo al Corso. It is a "national" church of Lombards in Rome, built on the site of previous little medieval church

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini, Rome

It was built by Antonio Casoni in 1626 for the Capuchin cardinal Antonio Barberini, brother of Urban VIII. There were also built a convent and a square with a

Chiesa (Church) di S.Maria di Montesanto (Santa Maria in Montesanto), Rome

The church was built in 1662-1679 on the site of the other church, which belonged to Carmelites from Monte Santo in Sicily. It has an elliptical plan with

Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte

The Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte was founded and built in 1576 by the Compagna della buona morte, a confraternity born in 1535 to pick