Mola, Pier Francesco (1612-1666)

"Mola, Pier Francesco (1612-1666)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Pier Francesco Mola, Italian painter, was born in Coldrerio, Canton Ticino in 1612 and died in Rome in 1666. He studied in the workshop of Cavalier d'Arpino in Rome, but his artistic formation took place in modern environment of Guercino, P.da Cortona, A.Sacchi and etc. His experience grew a lot during a long sojourn in Venice. After return to Rome in 1647 Mola created the following works: Agar and Ismaele (Gall.Colonna, Rome), Endimione (Pinacoteca capitolina), Preaching of St Barnaba (Chiesa di S.Carlo al Corso). Protected by Innocent X and Alexander VII he depicted some great paintings in the major churches of Rome: Stories of St Peter and St Paul (Chiesa del Gesu'), and minor works as: Ecstasy of St Brunone (Rome, Galleria Doria Pamphili), Homer (Rome, Gall.Naz.d'arte antica), Giuseppe and his brothers (1657, Rome, Palazzo del Quirinale), San Giovannino (Rome, Chiesa di S.Anastasia).

As you visit 'Mola, Pier Francesco (1612-1666)' you may also like following articles . . .

Guercino (1591-1666) (Giovanni Francesco Barbieri)

Giovan Francesco Barbieri, named Guercino, Italian painter, was born in Cento, Ferrara in 1591 and died in Bologna in 1666. He begun his carrier by frescoing

Church/Chiesa dei SS.Ambrogio e Carlo (San Carlo al Corso), Rome

Popularly the church is named Chiesa di S.Carlo al Corso. It is a "national" church of Lombards in Rome, built on the site of previous little medieval church

Chiesa (Church) di Gesu' e Maria, Rome

In 1615 the Augustinian brothers acquired a piece of land between modern Via di Gesu' e Maria and Via di S.Giacomo, between Via del Corso and Via del Babuino,

Galleria Nazionale D'Arte Moderna & Museo (National Gallery of Modern and Contemporary Art and Museum), Rome

The palace of the gallery was built in 1911 by Cesare Bazzani, and enlarged in 1933. It contains the most important in Italy collection of 19th-20th century

Chiesa del Gesu (Church of the Gesù)

The full name of this principal Jesuit church in Rome is Chiesa del SS.Nome di Gesu'. The Gesù was conceived in 1551 by Saint Ignatius of Loyola, the founder