Monastero di S.Francesca Romana/ Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (Monastery of Tor de' Specchi)

"Monastero di S.Francesca Romana/ Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (Monastery of Tor de' Specchi)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 9th May 2011

This monastery is also known as Monastero di Tor de'Specchi, deriving this name from the name of the medieval fortified zone of the Specchi family. In one of its houses grew a monastery by initiative of a noble Roman woman Francesca Bussi de'Leoni, who together with the other matrons retired here and founded the religious order of Oblates bearing now her name.

Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (The Monastery of Tor de' Specchi), rome
This is the only medieval building which was spared is the severe Monastero di Tor de' Specchi, founded by S. Francesca Romana in 1425. S. Francesca Romana was a Ponziani, a wealthy family of Trastevere. When she died in 1440 most likely she did not foresee becoming in 1925 the patron saint of car drivers; this because it is said that an angel held a light before her when she travelled.

Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (The Monastery of Tor de' Specchi) is set in the heart of Rome, at the very feet of the Campidoglio, between the basilica of S. Maria in Aracoeli and the imposing ruins of the Theater of Marcello.

Inside is a so called "scala santa" (with the paintings by A.Romano), leading to the Oratory with the Gothic windows and decorated with the cycle of frescoes representing 25 scenes from the life of St Francesca Romana (1448). Santa Francesca Romana's Tor de' Specchi is very strictly cloistered, only is open to public only on March 9, for the holiday of S. Francesca Romana, and the following Sunday. It is possible to visit the 17th century chapel only because the 15th century frescos are under restoration.

Address:
Monastero di S.Francesca Romana/ Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (Monastery of Tor de' Specchi)/ Monastero Oblate di S. Francesco Romana
Via del Teatro di Marcello, 32
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano- Campidoglio-P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Monastero di S.Francesca Romana/ Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (Monastery of Tor de' Specchi) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "127"
Hours:
March 9, 2011: Solemnity of St. Francesca Romana. Visit to the Monastery: 9.00 am - 11.45 am // 3.00 pm - 5.00 pm: Mass: 10.00 am.
Open also on March 13 and 20, 2011: Visit to the Monastery: 9.00 am - 11.45 am // 3.00 pm - 5.00 pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 6795281 - 06 6793565
Fax: 0039 06 6795281
Email: obl...@tordespecchi.it
Web site: http://www.tordespecchi.it/

As you visit 'Monastero di S.Francesca Romana/ Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (Monastery of Tor de' Specchi)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Santa Francesca Romana (Former Santa Maria Nova)

After the earthquake in the middle of the 9th century which destroyed S.Maria Antiqua in the Forum, it was abandoned and its diaconate moved to the Oratory of

Francesca, Piero della (1415/1420-1492)

Piero della Francesca, Italian painter, was born and died in Borgo San Sepolcro, Arezzo in 1415/1420 - 1492. His first noted works show the deep knowledge of

Specchi, Alessandro (1668-1729)

Alessandro Specchi, Italian architect and engraver, was born and died in Rome in 1668-1729. He was a pupil of C.Fontana. His first important work was Port of

Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery

The name of the Basilica/ Church and Monastery of Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati (Chiesa dei SS.Quattro Coronati/ Basilica dei Santi Quattro Coronati al laterano

Casina Vagnuzzi - Accademia Filarmonica Romana (Roman Philharmonic Academy), Rome

Originally it was a simple construction built in the 16th century, as one of the houses of the Villa Giulia. It was reconstructed by G.Valadier, and later by L