Museums, Monuments and Archaeological Areas

Gianicolense Mausoleum Monument (Mausoleo Ossario Gianicolense)

On the Janiculum Hill, with its breathtaking views of the innumerable domes and bell towers that pierce the city’s skyline, visit the church of San Pietro in Montorio, built on the site once thought to be where St. Peter was crucified and buried. See the Tempietto, a small shrine built by Bramante to mark the supposed site. The hill is also the site of the Gianicolense...

Villa Spada - Irish Embassy to the Holy See

Villa Spada - Irish Embassy to the Holy See In the very beginning of via Giacomo Medici stands an ancient Villa Nobili, later named Spada, built in 1639 by F.M.Baratta for Vincenzo Nobili. In 1849 it was a seat of the Garibaldi's headquarter after Villa Savorelli was destroyed; Villa Spada was also seriously damaged by French shelling, but was completely restored according to the original designs. Today it is a...

Monument To G.G.Belli In Piazza Giuseppe Gioachino Belli And Fountains

Monument To G.G.Belli In Piazza Giuseppe Gioachino Belli And Fountains Monumento a G.G.Belli (Monument to G. G. Belli) The monument to a Roman poet G.G.Belli was erected in 1913 by a sculptor Michele Tripisciano. It shows the poet leaned on the herm of the Ponte Fabricio on the background of typical symbols of the popular life of Romans to which Belli dedicated his life and left a collection of 2279 sonnets as a realistic document. The poet has...

Church and Museum of Santa Sabina all'Aventino

This is a perfect example of the 5th century basilica, a venerated and admirable model of primitive and pure conception of a Christian temple. The church was built in 425 by a priest from Dalmatia Pietro d'Illiria under the pope Celestine I, probably on the site of the house of the Roman matron Sabina, later confused with St.Sabina from Umbria. It was restored in 824 and 1216...

MACRO Testaccio Complex & La Pelanda - Former Mattatoio (Slaughterhouse): Museum and Cultural Centre

Mattatoio was a great complex construction created in 1890 as a huge slaughter-house or abattoir . It is abandoned now, and the plans of its re-utilization take in consideration some sportive constructions on this territory or creation of new museums and centers of commune's life. Rome’s ex-Mattatoio (slaughter-house or abattoir) complex is now an active site for cultural...

Pyramid of Cestius or Piramide Cestia (Piramide di Caio Cestio)

Pyramid of Cestius or Piramide Cestia (Piramide di Caio Cestio) It is of the best conserved and most characteristic monuments of ancient Rome. This pyramid was built in 12 a.D. during a period of 300 days, and it is 27m high, with the size of the base side 22m. It is covered by marble and stands on a basement of travertine. The Pyramid of Cestius or Piramide Cestia (Piramide di Caio Cestio); also called Pyramid of Gaius Cestius is an...

Curators Palace/ Palazzo dei Conservatori (Museums, Apartment, Gallery)

The palace was rebuilt by Nicolas V in the middle of the 15th century and remodeled after 1563-1568 by G.Della Porta and G.Guidetti from a design by Michelangelo. It was a seat of Professional Corporations (of druggists, vendors of fabrique, slaughters, etc.) and a of a Municipality. The name "conservatori" reminds about three members of the municipality of the city, chosen...

Capitoline Museums (Musei Capitolini) and Palazzo Nuovo (New Palace)

Palazzo Nuovo (New Palace) Palazzo Nuovo (New Palace) is on the left of the Piazza del Campidoglio. It was built according to a project of Michelangelo in 1603-1655 (Clement VIII - Alexander VII, who's coat-of-arms is above the entrance by Girolamo and Carlo Rainaldi. Palazzo Nuovo contains the Museo Capitolino, an extremely interesting collection of ancient sculpture, begun...

Climbing the Campidoglio (Capitoline Hill)

In the ancient epoch the way leading to the Capitoline Hill was made of step slope of a rock, on which a group of houses stood. The side street Via delle Tre Pile was open in 1692 by Innocent XII Pignatelli. The so called House of Michelangelo was located on it, but now its reconstruction is in the beginning of the Passeggiata del Gianicolo. Campidoglio (Capitoline Hill) or...

Palazzo Caffarelli

Charles V in occasion of his visit to Rome in 1536 gave to the Caffarelli an exclusive right to build a private residence on the Capitoline Hill. Thus, Palazzo Caffarelli was built in 1584, many times demolished and rearranged, and in 1854 passed to the Prussia and became a symbolic residence of German emperor on the Capitoline hill. After the WWI the palace was acquired by...

Mamertine Prison (Carcere Mamertino) or Tullianum

Mamertine Prison (Carcere Mamertino) [also called Tullianum] according to a legend was the Prison or jail (Carcere) where St Peter and St Paul was imprisoned. They would have stayed here for nine months and could runaway thanks to the help of other prisoners converted by apostles. Thus it was transformed in the place of cult with the name San Pietro in Carcere. It consists...

Temple of Vespasian (Tempio di Vespasiano)

Temple of Vespasian (Tempio di Vespasiano) Three white marble Corinthian columns made part of the Temple of Vespasian erected in memory of the emperor after his death in 79 A.D. by two sons Titus and Domitian, and two years later after the death of Titus, dedicated to him as well. On the basement are signs of the probable spots where the statues of two emperors stood. The inscription says about restoration conducted in...

Arch of Septimius Severus (Arco di Settimio Severo)

This arch was erected in 203 in honor of emperor Settimius Severus and his sons Caracalla and Geta (the name of the latter was deleted from inscription, when Caracalla killed him in 211). The arch is 21m high and 23m large. Inscriptions and four relieves on the minor arches celebrate the victories of Settimius Severus and his sons over the Arabs, Parthians and Adiabenians....

Rostra (Rostri)

In front of the Arch of Settimius Severus are the remains of Imperial Rostra, i.e. orator's tribune, the one from which Cicero proclaimed 14 orations against Marcus Antonius declaring him the public enemy of Rome, and to which the head and the hand of the orator were attached, after Marcus Antonius ordered to murder the rebellion. It was brought from its original site in front...

Column of Foca or Phocas (Colonna di Foca)

This column was erected by exarch of Rome Smeraldus in 608, in honor of emperor of the Eastern Roman Empire, Foca (Phocas). It is thought that it was him to present Pantheon to the pope St Boniface IV to adapt it for the church, thus saving this exceptional monument from the destruction. The column of Foca is the last honorary monument erected on the Forum Romanum. It was...