Museums, Monuments and Archaeological Areas

Arch of Janus (Arco di Giano)

It was probably a honorary arch dedicated to emperor Constantine and built in the 4th century using the fragments from the other constructions. In the Middle Ages it was turned into a base of the fortified fortress by the Frangipani family. But in 1830 it was returned its original look, with the exception of the attic, which was destroyed by mistake, taken for a part of the...

Arch of Moneylenders/ Arco degli Argentari/ Arcus Argentariorum

Arcus Argentariorum is a little arch erected by bankers exchange agents (argentari) and cattle-dealers of the Foro Boario (the cattle market located in this zone) in honour of Settimius Severus, his wife Julia Domna and their sons Geta and Caracalla in 204. It is characterized by excessively elaborated decorations showing the degrade of the artisan art. The names of Geta,...

Temple of Portunus or Fortune (Tempio di Portuno/ Fortuna Virilis)

Temple of Portunus or Fortune (Tempio di Portuno/ Fortuna Virilis) This temple was also ironically named "of Fortuna Virilis". Portunus is a divinity of a river port which once was located in this zone. The temple was erected in the 6th century b.C., but its present look dates from the 2nd century b.C.. It is a fine example of Greek-Roman architecture. It represents one of the best kept building of Ancient Rome. The Tempio di Portuno (Temple...

Temple of Ercole Vincitore or Vesta (Hercules the Winner)

This is the most ancient marble temple in Rome; it has circular plan surrounded by 20 Corinthian columns. The temple was built in the end of the 2nd century b.C. It was used as a church with the name S.Stefano delle Carrozze, and later, S.Maria del Sole. The Temple of Hercules Victor (Hercules the Winner or Hercules the Conqueror) (Italian: Tempio di Ercole Vincitore) or...

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

It is thought that the Circus, located in the Valle Murcia, between the Palatine and the Aventine Hills, existed already before the 4th century b.C. and was used for the horse races and horse competitions first by Tarquinius Priscus in 600 b.C.; and that the famous rape of the Sabines took place right here. It was the greatest construction for the entertainment every built,...

Tower of Little Mill/ Monkey Tower (Torre dei Frangipane/ Scimmia/ Moletta)

This tower was also named Torre della Moletta (Tower of little Mill) because of a water mill existed here in the Middle Ages, which used the Acqua Mariana, which came from the Porta Metronia through the Circus Maximus in direction of Tiber. The tower made part of the system of fortifications of the powerful medieval Frangipane family, which possessed other fortresses built on...

Skanderbeg Monument at Piazza Albania

The monument was erected in 1940, by Romanelli, in course of particular political relations between Italy and Albania. It represents a national hero of Albania Giorgio Castriota, named Scanderbeg, i.e. Alexander the Great, who sojourned in Rome for a period of time with the aim to ask for help to Paul II against the Turks. The Equestrian horseman statue portraying the...

Axum Obelisk and Piazza di Porta Capena (Porta Capena Square)

Axum Obelisk and Piazza di Porta Capena This Axum Obelisk (Obelisco di Axum) was moved here from a saint Ethiopian city (Axum) in 1937 as a trophy of the colonial company of Italy in Eastern Africa. It dates from the 4th century and is 24 meters high. Piazza di Porta Capena is a vast flat area among the offshoots of the Caelian, the Palatine and the Aventine hills. It owes its name to the ancient door that lead to...

Casina "La Vignola" at Porta Capena

Porta Capena was a gate in the Servian Wall near Caelian Hill, in Rome, formerly a sacred forest where Numa Pompilius and Egeria met. Porta Capena square (Piazza di Porta Capena) also hosts the FAO headquarters and the Casino La Vignola Boccapaduli. Casina "La Vignola" is a gracious construction built in the 15th century for the Vigna Boccapaduli. It was transferred here as...

Arch of Constantine (Arco di Costantino) across Via di San Gregorio

This is the largest and best conserved of all triumphal arches in Rome. It was built in 315 by Senate and Roman people in honour of emperor Constantine and his victory over Maxentius in the battle at Saxa Rubra on October 28, 312. The arch is compound of the elements taken from the other ancient monuments. The Corinthian columns of ancient yellow stone come from the monument...

Colosseum or Flavian Amphitheatre (Anfiteatro Flavio o Colosseo)

It took only eight years to erect the greatest monument of ancient Rome. Its original name is Flavian Amphitheatre, because of the form of the construction as an amphitheatre and because it was built by emperors of the Flavian dynasty: Vespasian, Titus and Domitian. Vespasian begun it in 72 A.D., Titus completed the works in 80 A.D. and Domitian added the higher steps and some...

Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) And Tower of Annibaldi

Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) of Annibaldi A nymphaeum (monumental fountain) of Annibaldi [Ninfeo degli degli Annibaldi] dated back to the end of the first century BC and the beginning of the first century AD was discovered in 1895 during the works for the realization of Via degli Annibaldi. It was part of a house that was destroyed later to make room for the construction of the Domus Aurea by Nero. The monument today...

Domus Aurea - Nero’s Golden House

This enormous complex construction (50 hectares) compound of palaces, gardens and lake was erected by two architects of emperor Nero, Severus and Celerus, after the fire of Rome in 64 A.D. and expanded from the slopes of the Celian and Palatine till the Oppian and Esquiline Hills. The main part of the palace was on the site of the Palace of Tiberius and Caligula (Palazzo di...

Baths of Trajan (Terme di Traiano)

The Baths of Trajan (Terme di Traiano) were executed by Apollodorus of Damascus in only five years and built by Traiano (Trajan) in 109 AD on the project of Apollodoro di Damasco, the most famous architect of that era. The huge complex of the Baths of Trajan required the construction of a massive cistern known since the Middle Ages as “Seven Rooms” which, almost perfectly...

Colle Oppio Park or Oppian Hill Park (Parco del Colle Oppio) next to the Colosseum

The Colle Oppio Park/ Oppian Hill Park (Parco del Colle Oppio) next to the Colosseum with the remnants of the "Domus Aurea" (Nero's villa) was created here in 1938 by the project of Raffaele De Vico with the goal to make an appropriate environment for the imposing ruins of the Baths of Trajan. In the Colle Oppio park near the Colosseum there are some ruins of the Terme di...