Museums, Monuments and Archaeological Areas

Pantheon at Piazza della Rotonda, Rome

Pantheon at Piazza della Rotonda, Rome It is the most impressive and best preserved monument of ancient Rome. It survived in course of centuries thanks to transformation from a pagan temple to the Christian church (the first case in the history). The Pantheon is without any doubt one of the best preserved ancient monuments in Rome. It is a wonderful example of the reutilization from a Christian perspective of a...

Tempio (Temple) di Iside, Rome

It was a sacred area in form of rectangular 240m x 60m located between Via del Seminario, Piazza S.Ignazio and Piazza del Gesu'. It was created in 43 b.C., destroyed by Augustus and Tiberius, and reconstructed and embellished by Caligola. The remains of the Temple of Isis decorate now different places in Rome, such as: a Pine-coin in the courtyard of Vatican Museums, obelisks...

Santa Maria sopra Minerva (Basilica of Saint Mary Above Minerva), Rome

Santa Maria sopra Minerva (Basilica of Saint Mary Above Minerva), Rome The Basilica of Saint Mary Above Minerva (Latin: Basilica Sanctae Mariae supra Minervam, Italian: Basilica di Santa Maria sopra Minerva) is a titular minor basilica and one of the most important churches of the Roman Catholic Dominican order in Rome, Italy. The church, located in the Piazza della Minerva in the Campus Martius region, is considered the only Gothic church in...

Piazza della Minerva - Obelisco Minerveo (Obelisk Minerva), Rome

Piazza della Minerva - Obelisco Minerveo (Obelisk Minerva), Rome It took the name from the church located here S.Maria sopra Minerva. In the middle is a funny monument compound of a little marble elephant supporting 6m high Egyptian obelisk (pictured above) which belonged to the Temple of Isis, that formerly stood nearby. It was designed by G.L.Bernini and executed by E.Ferrata in 1667. The little Obelisco Minerveo (Obelisk Minerva) of red...

Collegio Romano - Astronomical & Meteorological Observatory at Palazzo del Collegio Romano, Rome

piazza del collegio romano, rome It is located in the palace adjoining the Chiesa di S.Ignazio. The meteorological center was founded in the 18th century by Jesuits and was developed starting from 1849, when Jesuit Angelo Secchi became its director. The traditional astronomic activity of Jesuits moved to Vatican after 1870 and now continues its work in Pope's Villa at Castel Gandolfo (to the south-east of...

Palazzo Sciarra Colonna, Rome

Inside the interior of Palazzo Sciarra Colonna, Rome It was begun in the end of the 16th century by F.Ponzio and finished by O.Torriani in 1630 for the Sciarra Colonna family. The courtyard was rearranged two centuries later by Settimi. Maffeo Sciarra had the palace enlarged and adjoined Galleria Sciarra (architect Giulio De Angelis) entirely frescoed and a Teatro Quirino. Foundation’s (Fondazione Roma) offices are located in...

Palazzo Carpegna/ Accademia di San Luca (Academy of Saint Luke Gallery), Rome

National Academy of Saint Luke Gallery, Rome It was erected by a pupil of G.Della Porta in the end of the 16th century - beginning of the 17th century for the Vaini family. Later it passed to the Carpegna, who had it enlarged by Borromini. At present the palace is a seat of Accademia di S.Luca, which moved here after its historical seat in the palace adjoining Chiesa dei SS.Luca e Martina on Roman Forum was destroyed in...

Church/ Chiesa di San Giuseppe a Capo le Case, Rome

Church/ Chiesa di San Giuseppe a Capo le Case, Rome It was built in 1598 by initiative of Spanish priest Soto, who gathered here poor girls. With the help of a Roman noble woman, Fulvia Sforza, he enlarged the property of the church acquiring the gardens and old houses to build here a convent of S.Teresa. In 1628 the church itself was enlarged by initiative of cardinal Marcello Lante. After the monasteries were suppressed, it...

Casino Boncompagni Ludovisi (dell'Aurora Ludovisi), Rome

painting of Guercino, Casino dell'Aurora Ludovisi, Rome Casino Boncompagni Ludovisi (dell'Aurora Ludovisi) [also popularly called Villa Ludovisi] was one of minor constructions located on the territory of ex Villa Ludovisi. Originally it was named "casino del monte" (house of mountain) because it was located on a little hill. The house was noted starting from the end of the 16th century as a residence of Cecchino Del Nero. Cardinal...

Palazzo Barberini, Triton & Api Fountain In Piazza Barberini, Rome

The original name of this square was "Piazza Grimana", taken from cardinal Grimani, who's vine-yards and villa were in this zone. When the Barberini acquired their palace here, the square's name changed. While the first one is still in the middle of Piazza, the Fountain of the Bees (heraldic symbol of the Barberini) was demolished after 1870 to give way for the traffic of Via...

Albergo/ Hotel Bernini Bristol, Rome

Albergo/ Hotel Bernini Bristol, Rome This hotel was built in 1875 under the name "Bristol" by the project of F.Azzurri. The zone around it was full of hotels, due to the nearby Via di S.Nicola da Tolentino, which in that epoch was the only road connecting the city with the Termini Railway Station. In 1943 "Bernini-Bristol" had been reconstructed in its present form by E.Rossi. Looking out from the windows of...

Palazzo Barberini - National Gallery of Ancient Art

Palazzo Barberini ceiling, rome This is an ancient "Casa grande dei Barberini", the first palace of the noble family. Maffeo Barberini, the future pope Urban VIII, who lived here in 1600-1623, had this palace enlarged by F.Ponzio. Seccessively the Barberini, even though occupied in construction of the new one, improved conditions of their old palace as well. In 1734 it passed to a religious order of...

Fontana (Fountain) del Mosè, Rome

The fountain was erected in 1588 by D.Fontana to celebrate reactivation of ancient aqueduct bringing to Rome Acqua Alessandrina, executed by Sixtus V (Felice Peretti), from who the present name of this water derives: Acqua Felice. The statue of Moses is by Leonardo Sormani, the relieves are by Flaminio Vacca. The lions of the basins are the copies of original Egyptian lions,...

Quattro Fontane (Four Fountains)

Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi (Fountain of the Four Rivers), rome, italy It is a part of a street laid out by Sixtus V with the name Via Felice (derives from the name of pope Felice Peretti). The name "Quattro Fontane" was given it from the composition of four fountains located in the crossing point between this street and Via XX Settembre. The fountains are placed in the corners of the four buildings that stand at the crossing between Via delle...

Palazzo delle Esposizioni

La sala Cinema at Palazzo delle Esposizioni, rome It was built by the project of P.Piacentini in 1878-1882 and opened in 1883. As an important exhibition center, due to a danger of collapse in 1986, it has been radically restored, and a new system of illumination has been installed. The palace was reopened to public in 1990. The Palazzo delle Esposizioni is the largest multidisciplinary exhibition center in Rome’s downtown...