Via Nomentana

"Via Nomentana" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 14th May 2011

Via Nomentana

This is an ancient road which was straightened for the needs of the traffic under Pius IV, who also destroyed the ancient gate located in the beginning of the street Porta Nomentana and built the new one Porta Pia. Via Nomentana had been widen and hemmed by the four rows of plane-trees in 1909. The street reaches the neighborhood Monte Sacro, ex Citta' Giardino (City-garden), and a commune of the modern province of Rome called Mentana, which in the past had the name Nomentum. The street's name derives from this locality. The history of the road remembers the other names like: Ficulensis (from the city Ficulea close to Rome) and de Domina (from Costanza, a daughter of emperor Constantine who had the territory possessions along the road). In the past centuries a big number of beautiful villas stood along Via Nomentana, but now only the living blocks border it.

Via Nomentana is an ancient road of Italy, leading North-East from Rome to Nomentum (modern Mentana), a distance of 23 km (14 miles). It originally bore the name Via Ficulnensis, from the old Latin village of Ficulnea, about 13 km (8 miles) from Rome. On this street you can visit the Church of Sant’Agnese Fuori le Mura, which houses other catacombs, and the Church of Santa Costanza. In the south-east of Via Nomentana is located the popular neighborhood of San Lorenzo and university, with many restaurants and bars, which is named for the Church of San Lorenzo Fuori le Mura.

Via Nomentana Tourist Information Center:

The Tourist Information booth is open:

.
Address: Via Nomentana, 70, Website: www.museivillatorlonia.it

Address:
Via Nomentana
00198, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Quartiere Monte Sacro Alto (Roma nord)
Via Nomentana is Shown By "Map F Zone" As "2"

As you visit 'Via Nomentana' you may also like following articles . . .

Mausoleo di Santa Costanza (Santa Costanza Church), Rome

It is a mausoleum of two daughters of emperor Constantine: Constantia and Helena, annexed to the Basilica of St Agnes outside the Walls. It was built by

Basilica di Sant'Agnese fuori le mura (Saint Agnes Outside the Wall), Rome

Sant'Agnese fuori la mura (Saint Agnes Outside the Wall) is a basilica church in Rome, in which Saint Agnes's bones are reputed to rest. The underground area

Porta (Gate) Ardeatina and Via Ardeatina Road

Ardeatina Gate (Porta Ardeatina) was opened in 1939 as the beginning of the Via Cristoforo Colombo, which leads to the sea and in that epoch was named "

Gate/ Porta San Sebastiano (Ancient Appia Gate) & Museum of Walls (Museo Mura)

The ancient gate Porta Appia, better known as Porta San Sebastiano successively took the name of the nearby basilica of S.Sebastiano. It is the largest and

Porta (Gate) Pia and Museum of the Bersaglieri

After the ancient gate Porta Nomentana was closed with the goal to straighten the tract of the new road penetrating the city Via Pia (from the name of pope who