Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) And Tower of Annibaldi

"Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) And Tower of Annibaldi" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 3rd July 2011

Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) of Annibaldi

A nymphaeum (monumental fountain) of Annibaldi [Ninfeo degli degli Annibaldi] dated back to the end of the first century BC and the beginning of the first century AD was discovered in 1895 during the works for the realization of Via degli Annibaldi. It was part of a house that was destroyed later to make room for the construction of the Domus Aurea by Nero. The monument today is cut in two by the wall that retains the modern street and can be accessed through a small spiral case situated at the street level. The nymphaeum was originally elliptical with a basin at its center. The room has wall niches surmounted by medallions and is decorated by a mosaic made of seashells, enamel, pumice stone, and gravel, in an attempt to recall sea caves that nymphaea (Ninfeo) actually tried to reproduce.

The Tower of Annibaldi (Torre degli Annibaldi) was built in 1204 by Pietro Annibaldi, who was a brother-in-law of the ruling pope Innocent III. It was not easy to do because of the opposition of another powerful family of the Frangipane. Nevertheless the Annibaldi built one more tower which later was included in the fortifications of the S.Maria in Monasterio, a Roman base of Tuscolanian bishops from 1235. This palace-castle was seriously damaged during the sack of Rome in 1527 and finally demolished in 1544. At present the tower of Annibaldi belongs to the Maroniti family.
Tower of Annibaldi (Torre degli Annibaldi) at Via degli Annibaldi

Address:
Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) And Tower of Annibaldi
Via degli Annibaldi (angolo con via del Fagutale)
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo - S.Giovanni - S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) And Tower of Annibaldi is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "63"
Hours: Closed: Monday, January 1, May 1, December 25. Open to organized groups by reservation only. Please note: max 8 persons at a time.
Telephone Booking: 0039 060608 bookings every day 9:00 to 21:00 - Schools: 0039 06 42888888 (Mon-Fri 9.00 - 18.00, Sat 9.00 - 13.00)
Entrance and Booking: Booking required. Regular Tickets: Adults: € 3,00, Concessions: € 2,00. The price of the ticket does not include guided tours organized by Cultural Associations. Groups Booking: tel. +39 060608 (daily from 9.00 am to 9.00 pm). Schools Booking: tel. +39 0642888888 (Moday-Friday: 9.00 am - 6.00 pm; Saturday: 9.00 am- 1.00 pm).
Tel: +39 0667103819
Fax: +39 0667103118
Email: i...@zetema.it

As you visit 'Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) And Tower of Annibaldi' you may also like following articles . . .

Tower of Little Mill/ Monkey Tower (Torre dei Frangipane/ Scimmia/ Moletta)

This tower was also named Torre della Moletta (Tower of little Mill) because of a water mill existed here in the Middle Ages, which used the Acqua Mariana,

Anguillara Tower (Torre degli Anguillara) - House of Dante (Casa di Dante)

For a long period of time Trastevere as well as other districts of Rome was a part of the city controlled to one or more noble families, among them was the

Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre

The origins of this tower are not known, as well as the origins of its name, but it could be supposed that it had something to do with some military functions

Torre (Tower) de' Conti

It was built over a preceding fortification in the exedra of the Forum of Vespasian in the end of the 12th century by Innocent III Conti. It was not only a

Domus Aurea - Nero’s Golden House

This enormous complex construction (50 hectares) compound of palaces, gardens and lake was erected by two architects of emperor Nero, Severus and Celerus,