Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill

"Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 1st July 2011

The Alexamenos graffito (also known as the graffito blasfemo is an inscription carved in plaster on a wall near the Palatine Hill in Rome, now in the Palatine Antiquarium Museum. The graffito was discovered in 1857 when a building called the domus Gelotiana was unearthed on the Palatine Hill. The emperor Caligula had acquired the house for the imperial palace, which, after Caligula died, became used as a Paedagogium or boarding-school for the imperial page boys. Later the street on which the house sat was walled off to give support to extensions to the buildings above, and it thus remained sealed for centuries. The graffito is today housed in the Palatine antiquarium in Rome.

Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill
The ruins of the Palatine do not speak only about the emperors: the running of the palaces required many servants: at the foot of the hill (on the side towards Circus Maximus), archaeologists have found evidence of a school (Paedagogium) for their children. Remains of a forica (men's room) are another indication of the facilities designed for them.

This institution was destined to educate the persons serving at the house of the emperor. It is famous for the wall inscriptions left by the students. Particularly interesting is an image of the crucifix with the head of a donkey, which probably wanted to make fun of the schoolmate of the Christian faith. Perhaps this is where the students lived or where they received part of their education.

Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill
Via di San Gregorio, 30
00186 , Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano - Campidoglio - P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "38"
Transportation and Other details: The Complex of Palazzo di Domiziano (Domitian Palace)

As you visit 'Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill' you may also like following articles . . .

Palace of Septimius Severus (Settimio Severo/ Domus Severiana) on the Palatine Hill

On entering the complex from Via di San Gregorio, head uphill on the Palatine Hill until you come to the first recognizable construction, the Stadium of

The complex of Palazzo di Domiziano (Domitian Palace) on the Palatine Hill

In the last years of the 1st century after Christ, the south eastern area of the Palatino hill sees the construction of the large quarter of the Domizianei

House of Livia (Casa di Livia) on the Palatine Hill

It was a simple house in which emperor Augustus lived for 40 years with the modesty that his successors never knew. The Palatine hill was a residence zone

Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill)

The Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill) was built in 1625 by initiative of cardinal Francesco Barberini and Blessed Bonaventura da Barcellona

Farnese Gardens on the Palatine Hill (Orti Farnesiani sul Monte Palatino)

In the 16th century on the initiative of the Cardinal Alessandro Farnese a grand villa (Orti Farnesiani) was built on the Domus Tiberiana. The villa was almost