"Palazzo Albani Del Drago" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
Palazzo Albani Del Drago was built by D.Fontana for Muzio Mattei. In the beginning of the 18th century it passed to the Albani, who had it enlarged by A.Specchi. The latter also erected a little tower from which opens a panoramic view on the city. Cardinal Alessandro Albani made the palace a center of culture and antics, joining here an important library, which was lost in 1798, and a big collection of paintings, statues and archeological pieces. The same cardinal hosted here for a long time the so called "father of archeology", J.J.Winckelmann.
Palazzo del Drago is another magnificent dwelling built for want of Cardinal Alessandro Albani, in 1746. From there you will reach Piazza della Libertà, with Palazzo Pontificio facing north and the Church of St Tommaso da Villanova on the eastern side. The upper floors of the residence, rich in works of art, are the audience rooms, the Pope’s apartment, three chapels and service rooms. Gian Lorenzo Bernini designed the gate at the entrance of the garden.
Palazzo Albani is today known as Palazzo del Drago. The beautiful harmonious courtyard has a fountain, a sumptuous staircase, epigraphs and ancient statues. After the palace was acquired by queen Christina, widow of Ferdinand VII of Spain, in the middle of the 19th centuruy, it passed in inheritance to the Del Drago. Soon after the death of her husband Ferdinand VII of Spain (of Goya fame), Maria Christina married a sergeant of the Royal Guard, who became Duke of Riansares. They had children together but kept it a secret.
Note: The monument is closed until further notice.
Palazzo Albani Del Drago
Via dei Coronari, 33-44
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Zone: Quartiere Pinciano (Roma centro)
Palazzo Albani Del Drago is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "84"