"Palazzo Altieri" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 4th May 2011
The construction of the palace was begun in 1650 for cardinal Giambattista Altieri by G.A.De Rossi, and was continued by wish of cardinal's brother, cardinal Emilio, future pope Clement X. Because of the fact that the male line of the Altieri family was under the danger of extinction, Clement X adopted entire family of the husband of his grand-daughter, the ancient Roman family Albertoni. So, G.A.De Rossi had to create a double palace for two families. There are two courtyards and four entrances. On the most imposing doorway is a big coat-of-arms of Clement X. Interior is beautifully decorated, on the first floor is a fresco by C.Maratta "Triumph of Clemency" in honor of Clement X.
Creation of Palazzo Altieri cause destruction of numerous houses previously located on its area, but one of them remained untouched. It was a house of a certain Signora Berta, who refused to sell it to the Altieri. The construction was incorporated in the new palace with its independent entrance and one little window visible from Via del Plebiscito.
The imposing façade of the building with elegant yellow and blue colors, has a huge portal between two columns supporting a balcony and the family coat of arms.
The building is now occupied by a bank; though the interiors still possess major works of art and decoration, including paintings by Luca Giordano, Bernardo Strozzi, Pieter Mulier, Domenico Maria Canuti, Fabrizio Chiari, Felice Giani, Vincenzo Camuccini, Francesco Zuccarelli, and Giuseppe Bonito.
Piazza del Gesù, 49
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Altieri is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "112"
Hour: Open one Saturday per month to organized groups. A request guided tour must be sent by fax to the Direttore Generale dell'ABI (Associazione Bancaria Italiana) fax: +39 066767646. The visit is free and takes one hour.
Telephone: 0039 06 6767467
Fax: 0039 06 6767646